Farewell, OpenSolaris.

OpenSolaris was one of the few “pure” Unices (read: not Linux) that didn’t frustrate the heck out of me when I tried it. Apparently the May 2010 release date slipped, and now that Oracle bought Sun, it’s official… OpenSolaris as a community distro is dead. Solaris, the Sun Oracle closed-source product, will still be shipped.

Ars Technica Article

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 17, 2010 - 10:38 AM

    Yup. I read that too. To me, OpenSolaris was an ideal, rather than a reality. I think that it’s okay to let UNIX System V remain a commercial entity. BSD and Linux are ours (the community). Let big business have SysV. That’s pretty much the way it’s always been, really. Don’t get me wrong, I love Solaris 10 on SPARC and x86 and I didn’t detest OpenSolaris (it wouldn’t run on any of my machines so I only ever got to try it at tradeshows). It certainly was pretty and the Nimbus UI wasn’t nearly as blecherous as some commercial UNIX GTK themes. It will be missed. In the same way that I miss AT&T 3B2s and the original AT&T System V Release 4 UNIX that came with them.

    Something few noticed also: Red Hat stopped developing for 32-bit x86 machines. RHEL 6.0 will ship an x64 build only. That means my server will never run any OS newer than CentOS 5.5 unless I switch distros or OSes (I was seriously looking at FreeBSD).

Leave a Reply

