Google Chrome’s Secret Flaw

I am downloading an assload of large files in parallel (73 to be exact) on my 20Mb/s down Buisness Class ‘net connection.  And each DL is transferring at ~600KB/s.  The bottleneck isn’t my ‘net connection but my CPU.  I’m on a Core i7 920 @3.3GHz and 12GB of RAM.  Chrome is using 1.2GB of RAM and although it launches tabs as new threads, it does all direct downloads in a single thread.  Right now it’s got the base side of core#3 pegged and the hyperthread side 25% used.  It’s sort of annoying because I could actually put truly parallel downloading to good use in this instance.

No these files aren’t available for public consumption.  But if you happen to be in Milwaukee and buy me a beer or coffee, I just might give you the password to my FTP server.

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 15, 2010 - 7:17 PM

    Gentleman is a bit harsh, don’t you think? 😛

  1. Google Chrome’s Secret Flaw « Around Teh Table « Chicago Mac/PC Support
  2. Google Details Chrome’s Background Feature: Run Web Apps Without Seeing Them | Startup Websites

Leave a Reply

