Easiest. Swap. Evar.

One of my hard drives was giving me a S.M.A.R.T. error that failure was eminent. Something about too many raw read errors (I think it was ~26000 or so). I’ve had quite a few HDDs eat dust before, so it was amazing that S.M.A.R.T. caught it BEFORE it died. Anyways, I think I may have mentioned before that I have an Antec Skeleton. Let me tell you, that made taking out this HDD really, REALLY, easy.

skel

You can see the fan in front of the HDDs. That had to come off.

01425sz1i19393000

In this picture you can sort of see the tabs that I had to pull to get the mesh side panel off (which, I’ll admit, I didn’t know about when I first put it together and that made it a royal PITA). Once I did that, all I had to do was unplug the cables, push the tab in front, and pull the HDD out. It was MAYBE a minute of work. It took longer to shut down the PC.

  1. #1 by Joshua on August 5, 2010 - 7:03 PM

    Hotswap is even quicker. 😛

    One of the P-ATA 133 drives in dustpuppy started giving S.M.A.R.T. errors last year and is up to around 600,000 raw read errors. It’s been fine for almost a year now. I’ve learned not to listen to S.M.A.R.T. – if/when the drive fails, the RAID controller will let me know.

    • #2 by Phillip on August 5, 2010 - 7:30 PM

      Normally I ignore S.M.A.R.T. errors too; that’s what I’ve done with this drive for quite some time. Yesterday, though, I was just watching the errors go up continually. It also would somehow randomly “disconnect” and “reconnect” itself (the Intel Storage Matrix Manager would pop up every half hour or so telling me this). In any case, it’s under warranty, so why not get it taken care of?

      But yeah, hotswapping would be a bit quicker. I’m not sure how well that would work with Windows since it STILL refuses to let me remove external drives.

      I’ve never had luck with HDDs. I’ve had problems with Seagate, Maxtor, Western Digital, Toshiba, Fujitsu (now part of..Toshiba..I think), and now Samsung. The worst part is that all of these have been within the past 6 years or so and on average I get one HDD a year.

      • #3 by Joshua on August 6, 2010 - 4:19 PM

        Windows doesn’t do hotswap as a rule except for server and enterprise versions. You’d need a disk controller (and backplane) that’d tolerate hotswapping.

        • #4 by Chadwick on August 6, 2010 - 4:56 PM

          Windows tolerated me hotswapping SATA drives well enough.

          • #5 by Joshua on August 6, 2010 - 8:23 PM

            Interesting. I’ve never tried but I never saw anything that said I could, except on server and enterprise versions.

            Good to know.

Leave a Reply

