2 New Movies

I, just last night, watched 2 movies that I’ve had sitting around for quite some time; Oldboy and Let the Right One In. One’s a vampire love story (which..I didn’t care for, especially because there are so many more things they could have done) and the other is an action/drama/mystery.

Don’t get me wrong, looking at LtROI in its own light, short of any preconceived ideas about what vampire movies should be, is a good movie. The novel that it’s based on contains pedophilia (and kind of a prostitution twist along with that), alcoholism, vampirism, love/lust, and bullying. In the movie, you get hinted at the idea of one of the characters being a pedophile, but it just leaves it at that; it’s the same deal with alcoholism. You really have to watch, absorb and digest what’s happening. The 2 main characters, Eli, the vampire, and Oskar, were cast rather well. The director did a good job too. There is a lot of information told without it being enunciated. So, as I said, you get nuances of the other themes but it primarily shows the bullying, love/lust, and vampirism ones. Everything was laid out from the start and you’re kind of wondering where it’ll all go. I found myself not really caring after a certain point about the characters, but when one disappeared it was a moment where the movie just didn’t seem right. I’d probably watch it again, but not for a couple years and if I was really bored. All in all though, I’d rate it a 7.5 out of 10.

The other movie, Oldboy, has an interesting story line. I was trying to piece it together as it was happening, which didn’t quite work. This, without giving too much information away, involves an overlaying theme of incest. But, it basically starts with someone being kidnapped and thrown into a..I guess..hotel converted to a prison for a number of years. There are misleading happenings, misleading thoughts, and you don’t really get the full picture of what’s happened until everything is laid, more or less, at your feet. I’ll tell you, it’s one hell of an ending too; but the summation  is that words have consequences. This one I’d watch again in a half year or so. I’d also rate it at an 8 out of 10.

Just a note, if you decide to watch LtROI make sure you get the original, theatrical, subtitles. Or get someone that understands Swedish. There is a HUGE difference in what the words convey.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on July 23, 2010 - 10:41 PM

    Just a note, if you decide to watch LtROI make sure you get the original, theatrical, subtitles. Or get someone that understands Swedish. There is a HUGE difference in what the words convey.

    Indeed there is. I can’t believe how trashed the Magnolia subs are.

    • #2 by Phillip on July 24, 2010 - 3:13 PM

      Indeed. And even though Magnolia is kind of owned by Mark Cuban, I’d like to support them because they make stuff that I’ll watch. I don’t know if you read the bit at the bottom about how the new subs are a “more literal translation”.

      “Eli” to “I’m trapped” when you can clearly make out Eli isn’t exactly a better translation. I personally think that they tried to dumb it down, maybe thinking that the humor/seriousness couldn’t be shown through the words.

Leave a Reply

