Configuration Babysitting

This afternoon, after I replaced my monitor, I found a ton of error messages from my news server INND talking about a bad active file.  Thankfully, I know what that is:  the file that controls what newsgroups are available on the server and how many articles there are in each.  It lives in /var/lib/news.

When I opened it with vi, I noticed that someone or something had rearranged the file like one of those sliding tile puzzles.  8-byte strings had been jumbled up throughout the file, leading to entries like comp.uni00000041min.misc 00000y00001.

I have no idea what did that but I didn’t bother to try and fix it by hand.  I restored from last night’s level 2 dump of the /var filesystem.  It’s working fine now but I’d like to know what caused the random fuckery I saw.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on July 21, 2010 - 6:19 PM

    That is a WTF.

    • #2 by Joshua on July 21, 2010 - 6:23 PM

      Data inside files doesn’t generally just “rearrange” itself. Granted, data isn’t actually inside files and all that but that’s like, the defining feature of a filesystem: Group chunks of data into coherent files. If it can’t do that, there’s something seriously wrong.

      • #3 by Joshua on July 21, 2010 - 6:23 PM

        I fixed it. I had a department of redundancy department error in the original due to me getting up to do tech support for my mom.

Leave a Reply

