Don’t ever stop playing guitar

I hadn’t played a guitar in several months.  Last week my church asked me to walk and sing like a hippie at their upcoming block party.  So I’ve been going through my songbooks picking out appropriate songs for hippie-like-walking-and-singing.  The main problem isn’t my skill – that never leaves, even if I don’t play for years.  It’s the skin on my fingertips.  Since I’ve been playing for about 4-5 hours a day, every day, the fingers of my left hand are now swollen, red / purple / black / white, shiny, throbbing, and covered in blisters.  It isn’t terribly pleasant.  But I know that the only way for it to get better is to play through it.  Eventually, all the blisters will break and the raw skin underneath will start to die and then it won’t hurt anymore.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on July 20, 2010 - 7:51 PM

    Yay.

    • #2 by Chadwick on July 20, 2010 - 7:52 PM

      Possibly even HoYay.

      • #3 by Joshua on July 20, 2010 - 7:55 PM

        How is playing a guitar and getting blisters considered HoYay?

        • #4 by Joshua on July 20, 2010 - 8:01 PM

          Lol. That’s a dumb question. Clearly anything is HoYay when you’re wearing Shipping Goggles. 🙂

          • #5 by Chadwick on July 21, 2010 - 1:19 AM

            Indeed. Now get back to fingering your guitar.

          • #6 by Joshua on July 21, 2010 - 7:07 AM

            I just hope I don’t break my G string while fingering a minor. 😛

          • #7 by Chadwick on July 21, 2010 - 8:06 AM

            That would just be embarrassing.

          • #8 by Joshua on July 21, 2010 - 8:11 AM

            Eh. I make sure to keep a spare set of strings for each guitar.

            Right now I have two playable: The 1982 Ovation Flattop Custom and the 1994 Ovation Nylon String. The Mugen Mark I folk guitar is the back up for the Ovation Flattop and I only string it when the Ovation is otherwise indisposed (like say when I change tunings). My 1972 Electra needs to be refretted and the electronics need an overhaul. My 2003 New York Pro 12-string is in need of wood reconditioning (it’s very cheap maple/poplar laminate and it warped horribly, even under the recommended light-gauge, 3 half step detuned tension.

            My Stick is still kicking. I still play it though right now mainly for fun. I’m not good enough to play for others atm. ‘Cept you guys. Gus, Bjorn, and Kriz love to hear me play it.

Leave a Reply

