Computer giveaway

To people who want it.  If more than one of you does, we’ll have to rock-paper-scissors or something.

This computer is a couple years old, and some parts are older than that.  It began life as my brother’s desktop computer for him to cruise the internet, download spyware and use Limewire.  More recently, it was the computer used by the autistic kid we took care of.  It has not been used since he left; before that, I had it functional (after one of the several times he downloaded too many viruses and I had to reformat the system).  I have no reason to believe it is currently non-functional, though it could certainly use a bit of cleaning.

Details and pictures below the fold.

The system is built on an ASUS K8V-MX motherboard, with an AMD Sempron processor (I want to say it’s the Socket 754 Palermo 2800+, but I can make no promises).  I believe that it has 1GB of RAM.  It’s at least 512MB.

Case Interior

You can also see two PCI cards here.  The bottom one is I believe a Soundblaster Live 24-bit, while the top one is a LinkSys Wireless (802.11b only) networking card.  A view from the rear:

Case Rear

It’s a bit blurry, but I think you can see everything alright.  The antenna was removed from the wireless card for transport; it’s sitting in the pile of wires on the right.

Case Front

As you can see here, there’s two optical drives.  The lower is a DVD drive that was salvaged from a dumpster behind Milwaukee PC, the upper is a CD-RW (I think) that was pulled from an old e-Machine.  Also included is a floppy drive, for all your classic gaming needs.  I’m nearly 100% positive the front USB ports are functional, but as with everything in here, I can make no promises.

Case Interior - Drives

Here’s the backside of the floppy, as well as the topside of the hard drive.  I don’t know what its size is offhand, or what its actual state is.  I was beginning to get concerned that it had bad sectors; it was one of the pieces to get pulled from an older system.

Windows XP Professional OEM license.

Not sure what this is worth to any takers, but this is the license sticker for a legit copy of WinXP Pro that’s installed on the system.  If you can provide an appropriate disc, here’s a license key.  If you don’t need it…well, whatever.

So, that’s the offer.  I’m not asking for payment; if there’s no takers, this is probably going to be trashed.  If you want, there’s also USB mouse and keyboard available (filthy), and a 17″ CRT monitor.  Let me know.

  1. #1 by Joshua on July 20, 2010 - 1:38 PM

    Hmm… I could certainly think of a use for it but the last thing I need is another computer hanging around the house. Being as the parts aren’t spectacular (it isn’t a dual-CPU Itanium server after all), I think I’ll pass. Thanks for the offer, though!

    • #2 by Joshua on July 20, 2010 - 1:42 PM

      Eh. I may take that back. If it really is a Sempron Palermo 2800+, then it has 256k cache, AMD64 support, and DDR3 support. If that’s the case, I’d probably take it to replace my mom’s aging penium4 box. If it’s only a 32-bit chip, then it really wouldn’t be an improvement.

      • #3 by Joshua on July 20, 2010 - 1:43 PM

        If it’s the model I’m thinking of, then it should have a part number ending in BX.

  2. #4 by London on July 20, 2010 - 3:24 PM

    I’d like to toss my hat into the ring for it as well. It’s better than my parents current one and would be easier/cheaper to replace it than trying to fix/work around it.

    I’m willing to come pick it up if that helps at all.

    • #5 by Joshua on July 20, 2010 - 3:53 PM

      I second London. He has a more immediate use for it than I do.

    • #6 by Chadwick on July 20, 2010 - 7:43 PM

      Just as an FYI, it likely requires a bit of physical cleanup, since its recent environs has been one where I don’t like touching things because they might be sticky. Likewise, due to the rampant spyware etc., it’s gonna want a reformat.

      • #7 by London on July 21, 2010 - 12:13 PM

        I don’t mind the physical clean up. I’ll see if I can find a CD to reformat it.

        • #8 by Chadwick on July 21, 2010 - 1:38 PM

          I may have a spare copy or six if need be.

      • #9 by London Burt on November 19, 2010 - 12:50 PM

        Odd question. I tried to re-format with the CD you gave me and the key that was taped onto it and I got a “your key is no longer valid” error. Do you happen to have the original Install disk for that machine?

        • #10 by Chadwick on November 19, 2010 - 1:32 PM

          Likely it exists, but I couldn’t begin to tell you where it is.

        • #11 by Chadwick on November 19, 2010 - 1:56 PM

          Corrected; I seem to have found it. Or at least, an OEM copy.

          • #12 by London Burt on November 19, 2010 - 2:02 PM

            it was for Pro. Tech support said they wanted some X00-00000 code from it. But if you have another solution I’ll go with that.

          • #13 by Chadwick on November 19, 2010 - 2:07 PM

            Well, how would you like to acquire this item?

          • #14 by London Burt on November 19, 2010 - 4:04 PM

            Not sure on that yet. I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

