Anxiety Disorder Grab Bag

I start a new job on Friday.  This has caused big explosion of hypochondriasis and other anxiety symptoms.  I’m back to the thing where every minor feeling is a sure sign of a terminal illness.  It kinda sucks.  I also have the listlessness, the being afraid of doing anything or getting interested in anything since I’ll have to give it up on Friday anyway.  It’s pretty much as if my life is going to end on Friday and I’ll become a mindless corporate zombie who’s incapable of doing anything fun, ever.

Also:  Here’s an anxiety catch-22:  worrying about having heart disease can cause heart disease, according to the people on the TV  news.  That’s just plain silly in a cosmic way.

  1. #1 by Phillip on July 20, 2010 - 12:05 PM

    Life is weird that way. Everything can somehow cause something else. You’re damned if you do, damned if you don’t. So you might as well enjoy it.

    And I know plenty of people that still have fun outside of work. But then, I also know a couple people that don’t leave their house outside of work…

  2. #2 by Joshua on July 21, 2010 - 10:56 AM

    Lol. This morning, I was having a good bit of ringing in the ears. I noticed that it varied in pitch once in a while. I started to freak, thinking “varying-frequency ringing in ears is a sign of a brain tumor.” Then I actually thought about it. Not only do I have both air conditioners running in a very echo-y room, I also have three computers and monitors going at the same time. Also, I figured out what caused the variance in pitch: when I move my jaw, it changes the characteristic of the noise substantially. Now I’m not freaked anymore.

  3. #3 by Christa on July 22, 2010 - 12:57 AM

    See, when I do something like this, it’s because I’m doing poorly in a class. Then I panic and can’t focus enough to fix it. After that, I’m too afraid and worked up to talk to people would could help me fix the problem. I think I’d rather do that then think I’m sick all the time.

Leave a Reply

