Surprisingly

I’m sitting around, working on writing up some responses for the Star Wars Forum RP I play at, and I’ve got a headache that I’ve been pushing back at all day (basically, I only slept about 4 hours last night, and woke up with a nice pain in my temples and neck).  I’ve got some Mt. Dew in front of me, and I want a drink.  That is to say, a drink, if you follow.  And so I turn left, and examine my liquor shelf.  Mentally, I’ve sorted out very few things that mix well with primarily Mt. Dew.  It’s just not something I think of normally as a good mixer.

But as I grab the bottle of Southern Comfort—the one thing that I’ve found does work fairly well—an urge to try something else overtakes me, and I put the bottle back…and grab the Sazerac straight rye whiskey.  Whiskey (particularly of the rye variety, and particularly the Sazerac) doesn’t strike me as the sort of flavor that would blend into something palatable with the crisp yet syrupy citrus flavors of Mt. Dew.  Everything I can think of tells me it’s gonna ruin my soda.  But a voice in the back of my head says “Fuck it,” and away I go.

In goes the Sazerac rye, and it actually floats, which is kind of funny, so I give it a quick swirl, get it blended, and I take a drink.  Surprisingly, it’s actually very good.  That’s really all I had to say; I just took two drinks of it, went “Wow, that’s better than I expected,” and came by to post about it.  You can go back to your websurfing now.

  1. #1 by Erin on July 14, 2010 - 9:15 PM

    Interesting. Over the weekend I had a Manhattan that was a little too strong for me. Andrew ‘watered’ it down by adding Cherry Dr. Pepper. It was delicious! I had three of them! The funny part is that after I had the second one, Andrew was worried (I don’t drink often = lightweight) and gave me mostly Dr. Pepper in that third drink. 🙂 I’m glad he looks out for me because I had a serious hangover in the morning. Haha!

    • #2 by Chadwick on July 15, 2010 - 7:45 AM

      Oh, Erin…I see you’re almost as much a lightweight as Andrew. 😉

Leave a Reply

