Am not the undeployment anymore! (A.k.a. I has job nao)

My recruiter from the staffing firm I’m signed on with called me this morning to congratulate me on my new job with a major financial services provider.  The job is in the northern part of Milwaukee, near Menomonee Falls.  The job I’ll be doing is basically a configuration manager – I’ll be tweaking config files (XML to be specific) to make custom payment websites for different clients.  It isn’t mentally challenging but it’s IT work and after this phase of the project, I’m likely to move into more UNIX system admin or Java programming roles.  I start July 21 unless something changes.  So hooray for job having!

  1. #1 by Christa on July 13, 2010 - 1:01 PM

    Congrats!
    Is this the geeky place?

    • #2 by Joshua on July 13, 2010 - 4:34 PM

      No, sadly. This is the oppressive corporate place. The geeky job might still be available to me. I’ll wait and see.

  2. #3 by Chadwick on July 13, 2010 - 1:01 PM

    Whoo! So is this the payment processing firm that you mentioned, or is this something else?

    • #4 by Joshua on July 13, 2010 - 4:35 PM

      No. See Christa’s answer.

  3. #5 by Phillip on July 13, 2010 - 1:18 PM

    Congrats! And I’m wondering the same thing Chad is.

    • #6 by Joshua on July 13, 2010 - 4:35 PM

      See chad and/or Christa’s answer.

      • #7 by Phillip on July 13, 2010 - 5:01 PM

        The place where the guy interviewing you was an idiot?

        • #8 by Joshua on July 13, 2010 - 5:26 PM

          No. This job is at the same company as the interview from two weeks ago, but in a different building and a different department. Strictly 8-430 doing web design. This is not the job I want but the other guys are dragging their feet. The last they told me (on Monday) was that they were still interviewing. I can’t afford to wait. My unemployment ran out. I can always quit this one if the good guys decide they want me. It is only a temp to hire(?) for six months anyway. But they will pay me. No one else has made that offer lately.

          • #9 by Chadwick on July 13, 2010 - 7:57 PM

            Yay payment.

  4. #10 by Erin on July 13, 2010 - 10:39 PM

    Congratulations!

    • #11 by Joshua on July 14, 2010 - 8:59 AM

      Thankee!

  5. #12 by ottomadenedamotto on July 14, 2010 - 12:29 AM

    Congrats.

  6. #13 by Joshua on July 15, 2010 - 10:23 AM

    I got the rejection notice from the geeky place. They said it was a tough call but I just didn’t have the Java experience they were looking for. They did say that they were very interested in my UNIX skills and may have a job for me in the future on their network team.

Leave a Reply

