Wasted Space

When I first set dustpuppy up for multi-site webserving, I had envisioned using a locally-maintained drupal build.  That got to be too difficult to keep up patches for all the modules that had to be manually unrolled and installed.  So I went with the Red Hat repository install of Drupal 5 (which installs in /usr/share/drupal), which keeps the base system, themes, and core modules updated automatically with the rest of the system.  It works great and I have no problems.

But now I have 496M allocated to /var/www that’s doing nothing.  It has a no-longer-used local copy of Drupal 6, the apcupsd web interface (which isn’t even configured), a mirror of the Jargon File, and the ridiculously resource-hogging website CPU usage analyzer that’s disabled because it grinds the machine to a halt when I use it.

I’d like to keep this space around in case I ever do get a webapp that runs out of /var/www instead of /opt or /usr/share.  But at the same time, I could put that ~500MB to better use.

Then again, this is on a .75TB RAID array so does ~500MB really make that much difference?  It adds up to 0.06% of the total space.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on July 5, 2010 - 11:12 AM

    Then again, this is on a .75TB RAID array so does ~500MB really make that much difference?

    Whether it makes a difference depends not on total storage space, but on how much remaining free space you have.

    Though I suspect that a half gig isn’t gonna be a huge deal in any event.

    • #2 by Joshua on July 5, 2010 - 11:16 AM

      Total free is hard to calculate because of the way the filesystems are broken up. But I wanted to subdivide /usr and make a filesystem for mailman (/usr/mailman). I was debating repurposing the 500MB in /var/www to /usr/mailman. I think 500 mb would be enough. I’d have to see how much mailman’s taking up now. And find out if I can put the archives in /var/lib.

      • #3 by Joshua on August 1, 2010 - 10:07 AM

        Mailman takes up 48M in /usr and has its archive on /var already so we’re in the clear. Next time I get a chance, I’ll move everything off of /var/www, unmount, reformat, move /usr/mailman/* onto it, and remount it as /usr/mailman.

Leave a Reply

