A Colossal Waste of Time

I had a job interview today at 2PM with a “tech recruiting” firm in Brookfield.  That’s the only job interview I ever walked out of.

The dude’s appearance and condct screamed MBA.  He said that their client was an ISP like Yahoo! or GoDaddy.  (I think to myself, “neither of those companies are ISPs,” but I don’t say anything.)  He said that their client was looking for someone to troubleshoot a webserver that hosted over 7,000 websites.  Then he asked me if I had any experience working at a server.  Those were his words, “working at a server.”  I asked him to clarify that.  He said, “are any of the businesses you’ve worked at before servers?”  I said, “Err, no.”  It went downhill from there:

Dude:  Have you ever connected the database?
Me:  Huh?  Connected what database?  To what?
Dude:  Let’s skip that question and move on.
Dude:  Do you have experience working at an ISP?
Me:  No.  But I think you’re using a different definition of ISP than I am.
Dude:  Like Yahoo or GoDaddy.
Me:  Well, GoDaddy is a domain host and Yahoo! is a search engine.
Dude:  But they’re both ISPs since they allow people to access websites.
Me:  Okay, then, no.  I’ve worked for a bank, a marketing firm, and the military.
Dude:  Okay but were any of those ISPs?
Me:  No.
Dude:  Have you troubleshot IIS?
Me:  No, but I have maintained several apache servers.
Dude:  Then you have since apache is IIS.
Me:  Uhh… no.  They’re both web servers but they’re not the same thing.
Dude:  Apache is a kind of IIS so you have troubleshot IIS.

Dude:  What’s the difference between layer 7 routing and layer 4 routing?
Me:  Layer 7 (Application Layer) routing focuses on routing requests to resources such that the requests will be fulfilled in the shortest time.  Layer 4 (Transport Layer) routing focuses on ensuring that all paths to a host are utilized proportionally to their bandwidth and response.
Dude:  I was looking for an answer involving DNS pools and host headers.
Me:  I’m looking for the door

and I got up and left, thanking them for their time.

I just got an e-mail from him asking me to forward two references from each job I’ve worked at and asking me to rewrite my resume to include a couple of things about my experience troubleshooting IIS.

, ,

  1. #1 by sheep, andrewd18's coworker on June 29, 2010 - 4:37 PM

    I think its good you walked out.

    I suspect they would have paid you peanuts; they don’t know or really care about what they are hiring you for, and wouldn’t respect you either.

  2. #2 by Phillip on June 29, 2010 - 5:48 PM

    Wow. I may not be a network admin, but I know that IIS and Apache are 2 different setups. You’re right, those kinds of questions just scream MBA too.

    I’ve left job interviews with a sour taste in my mouth, and I would have left this one too.

  3. #3 by Matt on June 29, 2010 - 5:51 PM

    I think you should have stuck it out and started to mess with him. I want to see more of this q and a session.

    • #4 by Joshua on June 29, 2010 - 6:38 PM

      I got tired at trying to convince him that I wasn’t the stupid one in that room.

  4. #5 by Chadwick on June 29, 2010 - 8:11 PM

    I can’t honestly say I’ve ever been interviewed by someone so clearly unqualified to interview me.

Leave a Reply

