Syre vs. Corrugated Textures

Okay.  The NVidia driver update (v 257.21 WHQL) fixed the black screenshot issue.  But it introduced a new bug:  Corrugated Textures:

Corrugated Walls

Corrugated Walls

Any vertical surface in WoW gets corrugated like this.  And the lines converge and diverge when I move and it’s VERY annoying.

More Corrugation

More Corrugation

Rough Corrugations

Rough Corrugations

Shadows make it worse

Shadows make it worse

A shadow being cast on the vertical surface introduces a clip of one corrugation (the shadow) on top of and through the plane of the texture corrugation lines.  It makes the walls in Valiance Keep look terrible.

What setting do I need to frob to get the corrugated texture problem solved?  I don’t want to roll back my driver version because then I can’t take screenshots anymore.

WoW Game Glitch:  No Ground in Stormwind

This one’s not the fault of NVidia graphics drivers but of WoW itself:

Stormwind between worlds

Stormwind between worlds

Step 1:  Go here in Stormwind

Step 1: Go here in Stormwind

(in the Canals, toward Cathedral Square from the Harbor)

Step 2:  Take one step forward

Step 2: Take one step forward

The floor disappears and you can see building exteriors where they don’t belong.

Step 3:  One step further brings you back to reality.

Step 3: One step further brings you back to reality.

I already reported this bug to Blizzard via the in-game bugreport system.

,

  1. #1 by Chadwick on June 17, 2010 - 5:38 PM

    Stormwind’s always been the best (or worst, depending on your perspective) as far as finding places to see through the floor, at least in my experience. The only problem was that one time I fell through and got trapped under Stormwind. Well, maybe not trapped; it was cool with me just walking out the side. But still.

    And I have to say, I’ve never seen a striping effect like that in a texture. Always interesting what can turn up with driver updates, eh?

    • #2 by Joshua on June 18, 2010 - 10:23 AM

      I especially like the doorways in Stormwind – if you get really close to the edge of one, you can see a tiny seam between the outside of the doorway and the wall of the interior. If you look through the seam, you can see the interior without any NPCs or scripted items.

  2. #3 by Chadwick on June 18, 2010 - 10:01 AM

    So what model is your video card? And I assume you’ve done things such as fiddle AA and shadows?

    • #4 by Joshua on June 18, 2010 - 10:19 AM

      2x GeForce GTS 250. And no, I haven’t tried fiddling with AA yet. I’ve tried shadows and turning them off does help with the problems in Valiance Keep but not anywhere else. I’ll admit to not being up on graphics tech lately. I do know what antialiasing is though. I’ve written enough OpenGL apps to know what that one does. AA is currently set at 8xSLI (both GPUs do 8x AA).

Leave a Reply

