1000 posts and counting

Today, we hit 1,000 posts here at Teh Table.  I’m not even sure how to begin with how happy that makes me.  I started this off back in mid-February ’09 as an experiment, since we’d finally reached the point where many of us were dispersing from campus, possibly never to return.  To a certain extent, it’s worked out.  16 months later, here we still are, many of us posting at least occasionally (Josh near-obsessively).  So I thought I’d take a moment to look back at where we came from on this.

I actually got the place kicked off with the first half-dozen posts; well, a half dozen after my Getting Started post, where I simply linked through to a very tiny Lego Dalek.  Of those other six, four were politics (two national politics, one political journalism, one about Israel), one was a brief thought about Battlestar Galactica at the time, and the other was simply a really neat photojournal I’d found of the interior of an abandoned nuclear silo.

The politics theme carried through for quite a while for me, but following the elections in November, much of the hoopla died down, and took a great deal of my enthusiasm (and topics) with it.  And in a lot of ways, I started failing to blog there.  The last few days, I’ve been back in the saddle, as it were, but for a good while, I was MIA from the blog most days.  Sure, I’d come through and comment, but I wasn’t contributing as I should.  I’m just glad Josh picked up my slack!

Christa was the second one in, with an introduction explaining she’d not be writing the sort of things that Phil, Josh and myself were likely to post; ’cause she’s a girl who doesn’t do grounded and analytical—she’s personal.  And personal she was, giving us posts (often with photos!) about her broken car, food, geek/nerd arguments, and the occasional rant.  Later, we’d get some book reviews, and flower photography.  Christa, you’re awesome, and we need more of these things from you, ’cause they’re always great, regardless of what you think.

Phil joined in soon after, giving us some hell (yes, that was a joke about his titles, leave me alone).  Also, a Knighted Penguin.  Since then, we’ve been able to rely on Phil to show up on a semi-regular basis with some humorous stories about his life and family, some troubles he’s having with life and girls, some messed up dreams, or just some analysis of legal cases.  Phil, your life is fucked up a lot of days—but that just makes for good stories further down the road, amirite?  Keep up the crazy.

Next in were two of our lightest contributors (but no less valued for it), Sean and Matt.  Sean opened with a bit about Procrastination and StumbleUpon, Matt with a giant fiery finger for us all…which he doesn’t exercise nearly so often as he should.  Sean’s been occasionally updating us on art (particularly, his and others around Milwaukee), and Matt is…well, he’s Matt.  I understand Sean’s busy, but I can’t imagine Matt being (ya lazy bum!).  Guys, I love you, and want to hear more from you—get on that!

It was almost a month into this experiment that Josh arrived, delivering us a nebula, then some Beethoven, and he’s just been all over the board since.  He loves his Masons, and he loves his servers (even when he hates them), and he’s always got something to say (particularly about coffee and beer!).  Josh, I really could not keep this place going without you.  Thank you.

Andrew arrived mere days later, bringing his own sci-fi and tech sensibilities.  Whether it was Star Trek and The Watchmen, or ServerFaults and funny variables, when Andrew comes by, he generally brings something worth checking out—even if it means wondering what the hell those sysadmin dorks are talking about.  Andrew, I’m glad we acquired you along the way.

Nearly the next day, Bjorn checked in, and it was hard to miss.  He began with a rant about some of the things he hated, and most of his 47 posts since then have likewise been rants.  While he’s easily our angriest author, it’s hard not to have at least a few thoughts provoked by what he writes—even if it’s only because you want to dispute something.  Bjorn, always love ya buddy; don’t ever change—actually, scratch that.  Change, but stay you.  Or something.  Ah, screw it.

Since then, we’ve gathered a handful of posts from Liz, Brad, and even London.  I’m glad you all could make it.

Basically, I’m glad we’ve all come together here, even if its only occasionally, even if it’s just some dumb blog.  I’m not very good at reaching out and being social, as many of you may have noticed, but I really don’t want to lose my connections with any of you, and so when I see you come by to post, or comment, it really means a lot to me.  I’m actually tearing up a little right now, so I think I’ll keep it short.

Thank you. All of you.  I’m glad we’ve been doing this together.

  1. #1 by Joshua on June 11, 2010 - 12:52 PM

    I love the “possibly related” links.

  2. #3 by VisualHierarchy on June 11, 2010 - 2:51 PM

    Thanks for putting this together chad 🙂

    • #4 by Chadwick on June 11, 2010 - 4:35 PM

      Well I had to, really. Couldn’t not…

  3. #5 by Matt on June 12, 2010 - 12:07 PM

    Hey, I has a jorb now! Granted its PC/Mac support/learning how to be an admin, but I’m busy! See my first post’s pic as to what I think of you Chad 😉

  4. #7 by Phillip on June 15, 2010 - 1:27 PM

    It’s hard to believe that it’s really that high. How long has the blog been around?

    • #8 by Chadwick on June 15, 2010 - 10:03 PM

      Since mid-February ’09. You know, like it says in the third sentence…

      • #9 by Phillip on June 16, 2010 - 12:08 AM

        I don’t read, I skim. I seem to recall something similar with Josh’s post on language some time ago where he linked to Wikipedia and I ended up linking to the exact same thing.

        • #10 by Chadwick on June 16, 2010 - 6:37 AM

          Lol. Probably true. You’re often fairly insightful for a non-reader, though. Even if you miss the glaringly obvious parts…

Leave a Reply

