Long Iron Problems

I have been having difficulty with my long irons. Short irons are great (always have been), woods are inconsistent (sometimes awesome, other times useless). Long irons for me have been consistently bad. By “Long Irons” I mean fairway irons like the 4 and 5 irons. I finally managed to catch a professional tournament on TV where they were playing short par 3 holes (longest was 188 yards). The tee shots were universally done with a five iron. After watching Tiger Woods, Ernie Els, and a bunch of other golf pros, I finally noted what was wrong with my play of long irons: my stance. My swing was good but I failed to realize that one’s stance must change when moving from shorter irons to longer. Once I bent my knees a wee bit more and allowed myself more flex in the lower body, I not only stopped digging up the ground with every shot, I also improved distance and accuracy with the 4 and 5 irons! And I lost all my whiffle balls in my neighbor’s bushes because that’s where I was aiming. 😛

This is the first post I’ve written in Lynx. I’m using Lynx because Firefox still has the bug where if your home is NFS-mounted, the locking system breaks after 20 minutes of idle time.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

