My Weekend

I finally tried my Gewurztraminer from Chad (thanks again) and, unlike Josh, I got some hints of spice at the beginning, followed by floral notes. I’ve also completely reaffirmed my hatred of red wines (or as someone else put it, liquid leather) and my loving of whites. I had something, I don’t recall what, but it had tastes of strawberries and kiwis, but it was refreshing after trying another red.

Well, I played a prank involving a request from my gramps on my uncle and he fell for it. My aunt was trying quetiapine “for pain” when it’s an atypical antipsychotic. My gramma was laying in her bed, on her side, against the bed rails and staring at nothing in particular, chewing away on a blanket. My gramps is in denial about how bad she really is and, the other day, said that she came up behind him while he was doing dishes and asked, “Can I help with that?”. From someone that’s bedridden and only once out of every 50-100 “words” uttered is a clear articulation heard, I severely doubt her getting up and asking a question. And, since gramps took her out of a nursing home, I think we’re going to try to find out about getting hospice care.

I was called a man-whore and a tramp over the weekend. The man-whore thing ended up with my cuddling with her from behind, then having her turn to face me and tell me that she has a boyfriend, then kissing me. It worked for me. The other thing was, I think, jokingly said. Meh, regardless, it worked out for me.

Lastly, I was planning a vacation; it’s probably happening next year. It’s involving New York, The Plaza Hotel, and my being there from December 23rd until January 2nd. So, at the very least, it should be a trip to remember. And, it’s shaping up to look like it’s going to be a family thing too. But, as we’ve always said, it only costs a little more to go first class.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on June 1, 2010 - 7:58 AM

    Phil, did you have the brown or blue bottle? I thought I gave you the blue one, which is the Sweet Gewurztraminer.

    In any event, you’ll always be a tramp to me.

    • #2 by Joshua on June 1, 2010 - 8:00 AM

      I had the brown one if it helps.

    • #3 by Phillip on June 1, 2010 - 9:02 AM

      My mistake, it was the Sweet Gewurztraminer.

  2. #4 by Chadwick on June 1, 2010 - 9:42 AM

    And you would be a white-drinker, wouldn’t you, Phil? Maybe I’ll have to see if I can’t find some big bright fruity reds for you sometime. I’ve got a very nice vibrant pinot noir sitting here right now, but you can’t have any.

    • #5 by Phillip on June 1, 2010 - 9:55 AM

      I would be a white-drinker. I’ve yet to find a red that can wow me over.

      • #6 by Chadwick on June 1, 2010 - 2:50 PM

        Well what are you looking for in a wine? Aside from color, you racist.

        • #7 by Phillip on June 1, 2010 - 3:27 PM

          I’d give another red a chance if it was kind of fruity, possibly floral, non-leathery, not overwhelming with tannins, more on the sweet side, but I wouldn’t have a problem with a dry that had more alcohol to balance out.

          I don’t know if that helps at all, but hey.

Leave a Reply

