How I Met Paul Ryan, for the Second Time

For those of you who don’t know, Paul Ryan is like a GOP rock star. I mean, look at this guy!

I’m a Democrat, and I’ve voted for him like 3 times (mostly because the people who run against him are less than ideal, but still a vote is a vote). After today, I think I’m going to vote fore him again. Tomorrow I’ll be leaving home for summer field school. I’ll be camping for six weeks while I finally get my hands dirty with real archeology. There’s a bunch of stuff that I’ve been putting off, but today my mom and I went to Wal-Mart to pick up the rest of the stuff on my list. (Don’t worry, there’s more Rock Star coming).

We walked up and down the rows of in progress re-modeling store finding more things that I ever though I could need. Turns out that moms are way smart about things that their children should have when living out of a tent. We racked up more than 300 dollars worth of food, drink, and supplies. This really put my mind at ease, as I’ve been going out of my mind wondering what I’m going to be eating out in the middle of no where.I even picked up a cheap pair of sunglasses, that I now notice are not UV blocking. I took the large plastic hanger off and put them on as we left.

Walking out of the Wal-Mart feeling more than a little guilty about living off my mom, yet again, I see a well dressed man walking towards us. I thought it looked like Paul Ryan, but I wasn’t quite so sure. I looked at the woman with him, proudly wearing a Green Ryan shirt.

As we pass each other I give him a sideways point, and go “Paul Ryan.” I was not expecting what happened next. He actually stopped, turned around and walked back.

I’m not sure what he said, but he held out his hand and asked my name. I told him and shook his hand. He has one hell of a handshake, by the way. So, what’s the first thing that come out of my mouth.

“I’m a Democrat.” Face palm.

“That’s okay,” he said.

Next thing I say. “I met you once before back in 2008 when you first ran.”

“Oh, you mean ’98.”

“Yeah, that’s it.”

“Were you just a little kid at the time?”

“I had just graduated 8th grade, we were at the Relay for Life.” I had even asked for his autograph, just to get a reaction out of my friend Daniel.

“I didn’t make you a Democrat, did I?” he asked with a big smile and a laugh.

“No,” I said, “Bush did that.” That’s when I noticed I still had stickers on my sunglasses and we started to part ways. “You think,” I called, “I appreciate that.”

Just like that he was gone. This isn’t all word for word mind you. There was something about the Memorial day Parade, and I’m sure I rambled more. The point is, today I meat the GOP Rock Star, my Congressman in the Wisconsin First, and I was wearing a cheap pair of aviator sunglasses with stickers all over the lenses, scruffy hair, and a shirt that read [G33l<], in a Wal-Mart parking lot.

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on May 31, 2010 - 1:14 PM

    LOL that’s just plain awesome! And THAT’s how interacting with a congressman ought to be.

  2. #2 by Joshua on May 31, 2010 - 1:15 PM

    And have fun living in a tent and stuff. I know that this is the kind of work you enjoy doing and I’m very glad you get a chance to do it every day for six weeks. We’ll missing you!

Leave a Reply

