Ding! We have a winner!

Laughing Cat Gewurztraminer

Laughing Cat Gewurztraminer

I will admit to knowing nothing about wine other than that it’s made from grapes and that it’s fermented by yeast.  So I had no idea what in the nine hells a Gewurztraminer was.  I do know that Würze means “spice” in German and that adding Ge- to a word makes it a participle (indicates action upon something – in this case, giving spice).  But I had no idea what a “Traminer” was.

Wikipedia says that Gewürztraminer is a German variety of white wine that is popular in cooler climates.  It also says that the Würze (spice) in this case isn’t a spice at all.  Würze, in Old High German (Althochdeutsch), also meant “perfume.”  That’s the meaning that is intended here.  And a Traminer is a person from the area of Tramin an der Weinstraße (Weinſtraße means “wine street” in German). But in this case, it isn’t a person, but a Traminer grape.  A very odd grape.

History and linguistics aside, I do believe that Chad has found the turning-point wine for me.  I found the Gewürztraminer extremely intriguing and delicious.  It’s juicy and refreshing but has a unique floral flavor and such insane depth of flavors that I can’t find a way to top it.  The closes beer I could think of to relate this wine to would be a very complex India Pale Ale with hints of coriander and Hallertau hops.

For supper, I fried some frozen pre-breaded veal-and-beef cutlets, sliced some portabello mushrooms and sauteed them with butter until they started to soften.  I then added about 1/4 cup of the Laughing Cat Gewürztraminer wine to the sauce and let it reduce and finish cooking the mushrooms.  I dumped in about half a jar of savory beef gravy and added a few pinches of sage.  I wasn’t expecting much but it was INSANELY good.  I poured the sauce over the veal cutlets and served it with mashed potatoes.  I drank a glass of Laughing Cat Gewürztraminer with it.  I can’t imagine a more perfect meal.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on May 31, 2010 - 6:11 PM

    Glad it worked out for you.

  2. #2 by Joshua on June 4, 2010 - 5:39 PM

    Hey, the Chad! How long does wine live once it’s opened? I covered it with a plastic bag and twist tie. It still tasted excellent today but a little more sour than I remember it being.

    • #3 by Chadwick on June 4, 2010 - 9:02 PM

      Hard to say for sure. Longer refrigerated, obviously, and I’ve kept them around for more than a week, but after that I tend to use them primarily as cooking wine, as the flavor’s shifting fairly noticeably by then.

  3. #4 by Joshua on June 9, 2010 - 12:40 PM

    Okay: So now that you know that I like Gewürztraminer (a white, wow!) and hate whatever that red was, what other wines can you recommend based on that? Besides the Tisdale Cabernet Sauvignon that I’ve had before and find pretty good.

  4. #5 by Chadwick on June 9, 2010 - 8:26 PM

    It’s a touch more expensive running up toward the $20-25 range, but the Grant Burge Cabernet Sauvignon is quite nice; particularly the 2005. Let me flip through my folders here…

    I don’t recall if you liked Chardonnay, but if you have a taste for it at all, the Viu Manent Reserva 2009 was quite good. I don’t usually like Chards too much (the oak in them can really get to be too much for me) but this was a lovely, floral, balanced wine.

    Actually, you know what? Why don’t I just write a post about stuff?

Leave a Reply

