USENET Tomfoolery

Roadrunner used to provide USENET access to their customers.  I can still ping news-server.wi.rr.com (66.250.146.128) but a port scan shows that only port 80 (HTTP) is open and I can’t even connect to that – SYN packets go unACK’d.  I used to get free USENET through eternal-september.org but they seem to have gone offline permanently.  The big one now is aoie.org and they claim to provide USENET on an array of ports at nntp.aoie.org but a port scan there shows that only port 80 is open.  When I connect there, I get the aoie.org website content just as one would expect to see on port 80.  So what am I missing?  Could someone try to connect to nntp.aoie.org on port 119 for me and let me know?  Anything will do – a port scan, telent to port 119, NNTP client connection, anything to let me know if it’s my router being flaky or if aoie.org is really just a pile of shit masquerading as a free USENET service.  Thanks!

  1. #1 by Chadwick on May 26, 2010 - 1:46 PM

    I’m not sure AOIE is masquerading as much of anything now. When I pop by their page proper, I get a “inquire about this domain” page, with the usual spread of links to various BS that you get with those things.

    • #2 by Joshua on May 26, 2010 - 1:48 PM

      Huh. Okay thanks anyway.

      • #3 by Chadwick on May 26, 2010 - 1:59 PM

        It’s hard to find anything much for USENET these days.

        • #4 by Joshua on May 26, 2010 - 2:01 PM

          As far as access goes yeah but it kinda sucks because if I check out alt.books.pratchett on Google Groups, there’s actually pretty good discussion happening! Same goes for comp.unix.shell.

  2. #5 by Phillip on May 28, 2010 - 1:46 PM

    I’ll admit, I use USENET quite a bit, but then again, I also pay for it. I remember using the RR provided one and it blew. Not too long after, I got a USENET account that I think had a 100MB monthly quota on it, but for text, that’s fine. The only problem is I don’t remember where I got it.

Leave a Reply

