Espresso Recommendation: Stone Creek Factory Reserve: Papua New Guinea

Flag of Papua New Guinea

Flag of Papua New Guinea

The fruit of the Kimel Plantation, this time by Stone Creek.

I’ve long been a fan of Alterra’s Papua New Guinea Kimel single origin coffee.  I noted that it makes very robust and bold espresso with bright, exciting flavors.  Stone Creek has a bit of a different take on this venerable Oceanic coffee.  Kimel grows a long list of coffee varietals but the most noteworthy is Blue Mountain.

The most famous growing region for this smooth and mellow varietal is Jamaica and Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee is known the world over as being the perfect cup for a relaxing evening.  I definitely taste the mellowing influence of Blue Mountain in this robust, sweet, and buttery coffee.

The stream color is abit lighter (more orange) than Alterra’s New Guinea Kimel and the crema also has a lighter tan coloration in contrast to the mottled brown that Alterra’s gives.  The long-lasting crema is very thick and heavy in both coffees.  The heart is a beautiful tan and lasts for about 20-25 seconds.

The aroma is of buttered toast.  The first sip gives excellent mellow coffee flavor.  The mid taste really starts to sparkle.  The rear taste delivers on the buttery promises of the aroma and the aftertaste combines all the flavors into a short-lived burst of coffee perfection.

The personality doesn’t change much from top to bottom.  It’s fairly consistent and balanced throughout the shot.

I highly recommend this coffee to espresso drinkers looking for something a bit more even-keeled than traditional espresso blends.

  1. #1 by Joshua on May 26, 2010 - 7:02 AM

    Mmm… Wow! I just pulled a ristretto shot of the Papua New Guinea Factory Reserve and it’s AMAZING! I HIGHLY recommend this coffee to all espresso drinkers and even those looking to try espresso for the first time. Normally I wouldn’t recommend anything other than Alterra’s Espresso Blend but DAMN this stuff is good!

    • #2 by Joshua on May 26, 2010 - 7:07 AM

      For the benefit of non-coffee people, I’m linking the Wikipedia page on espresso ristretto. To accomplish a ristretto on my home machine, I use the double-dose filter and tamp to 40lbs of pressure rather than the 33 I normally use (should be 35 but my pump can only produce 9ATM of pressure – 18 is the norm for cafe machines), and then stop the pump at 15 seconds. I do catch about another second’s worth of flow before I remove the cup. I base that on color more than time. As the temperature drops sharply once the pump is stopped, the coffee turns from rich golden to thin tan and that’s when I remove the cup.

Leave a Reply

