High Load on dustpuppy

UPDATE:  I finally figure out the intermediate cause of my insane aide behavior lately.  A run of /usr/sbin/aide -i has been running for 14 hours now.  So I decided to strace it.  It’s just mmapping16k segments over and over again.  WTF?  So I checked into which file it’s mmapping for 14 hours:

aide attempting to mmap a 142 Petabyte file

aide attempting to mmap a 142 Petabyte file

/usr/share/locale/az/LC_MESSAGES/pidgin.mo seems to have exploded to 2,000 time the combined capacity of every hard disk in my house.  What’s more likely is that the filesystem is hosed somehow.  I’m going to kill aide and find some time to reboot the machine with /forcefsck.

I noticed a high level of disk activity on dustpuppy today so I popped on to see what was doing all the I/O:

dustpuppy under almost 9.0 SLU!

dustpuppy under almost 9.0 SLU!

I’ve never seen dustpuppy with a load average > 4 before. At least I know what’s causing it. Process #4800: aide. AIDE is an intrusion detection environment. What it’s doing now is file checksumming. And my monitor just went black. It’s been dying for a while. Please forgive me if this is typed horribly as I can’t see at all what I’m typing.

  1. #1 by Joshua on May 13, 2010 - 11:25 AM

    Well the monitor isn’t dead yet, just dying. After a good night’s sleep, it seems to be doing okay today. When I checked in on dustpuppy this morning, the Sendmail daemon had stopped and the system load was at 15! So I killed both aide processes (and the 100 or so shells that were all running find to feed it) and restarted Sendmail. It seems to be working now after it coughed up a hairball of messages that had been queued waiting for some free CPU time.

  2. #2 by Andrew D. on May 14, 2010 - 2:17 PM

    So when should we start taking bets on whether your WoW screenshot is actually due to the nVidia driver, or due to the fact that your monitor is blacking out?

    • #3 by Joshua on May 14, 2010 - 4:36 PM

      Well the monitor that’s dying is on the Sun and it doesn’t run WoW. (Though a SPARC port would be sweet.) I could always solve the driver issue by using a camera above my head aimed at the screen.

Leave a Reply

