Router Naming

At Hunter, our router was named BAR-RTR, which stood for Barnabas Router (Barnabas being the name of the business complex which we occupied).  My first router was named NETGEAR (lol).  The first router I built myself was named coyote (’cause it ran Coyote Linux floppy firewall when Linux 2.4 was the new thing).  The current router is called “gateway.”

I’d like to come up with a name for my new router.Chad got the winning ticket for my E420R server with HomelyGosling.  Here’s the breakdown so far:

  1. Gateway – Dell OptiPlex GX1 router.
  2. UglyDuckling – Sun Ultra60 workstation
  3. HomelyGosling – Sun Enterprise 420R server
  4. dustpuppy – homebuilt 4U rackmount server
  5. Horde – Alienware Area51 ALX gaming rig / multimedia studio
  6. Marlene – my mom’s machine and also print / scan station.

So as you can see, I have a bit of everything.  At one time, the idea was to have all the machines named after characters from UserFriendly.  I made it as far as dustpuppy.  Then I got the UglyDuckling which I named that because I bought it at a reduced rate from AnySystem.com‘s Ugly Duckling promotions (like a scratch ‘n dent sale for high-end hardware).  My old Alienware gaming rig was named Nightstalker because it had a black tower and I happened to catch sight of a Magic: The Gathering card whose creature type was “Cat – Nightstalker” and the name just stuck.  My new Alienware rig is named Horde because I got it in Orc-skin green with red lighting effects.  I named Marlene after the only recurring female character on the Penguins of Madagascar (excepting the surly zookeeper Alice, of course) since it was the only box that my mom uses.  (She’s always on me that I have 6 working computers and she only uses one of them.)

So what should I name my new router?  I could go with the obvious “router” but I don’t think that’ll be a good idea.  The primary domain name (according to DNS) is lakemasoniccenter.org.  It will also route for firstlutheranelca.org and flippingcoinsband.com.

  1. #1 by Andrew D. on May 5, 2010 - 10:18 PM

    Let’s mash the DNS names together and see what we get:

    Flipping ELCA Masons
    First Lake Coins
    Masonic Band Center
    Lutheran Lake Coins

    • #2 by Joshua on May 6, 2010 - 7:08 AM

      LOL I love the Flipping ELCA Masons! It sounds like something someone would mutter under their breath when fed up with the church council.

      • #3 by Andrew D. on May 6, 2010 - 1:47 PM

        Yeah, that’s my favorite too. The acronym form would be FELCAM, which kinda rolls off the tongue.

        • #4 by Joshua on May 6, 2010 - 4:53 PM

          I should totally register felcam.org if it’s not already.

Leave a Reply

