More Stupid Job Requirements

I went to apply for a Red Hat Linux Admin position this morning.  In the requirements, it listed 5-7 years of supervisory experience in an assisted living or managed care facility.  I totally didn’t know that Red Hat Linux admins needed to know how to run a nursing home.  I’ll get right on that.

Lol – I just found another one.  Linux System Administrator.  I clicked the link and the job was “Must have experience delivering high-quality medical care to homebound patients.”  WTF?  Suddenly, sysadmins now double as nurses?

  1. #1 by Joshua on April 30, 2010 - 10:34 AM

    If it isn’t one thing, it’s another. My router is dying. I’m in the process of building a new one.

    Some boob just called me and told me a bunch of crap in a very thick Indian accent – I totally couldn’t understand a bit of what he was saying. After much apology on my end, I finally managed to understand that he wanted an updated copy of my resume for a windows developer position with Fujitsu. Which is all great but he never gave me his e-mail address or even told me what company he was with.

    • #2 by Joshua on April 30, 2010 - 10:36 AM

      UPDATE: The boob in question sent me an e-mail with job requirements for a windows developer position. I don’t meet half of them. I’ve never done Windows development. I don’t know which job agency he got my name from but for future reference, here’s his info:

      Suresh Kumar

      THOUGHT CREEK INC

      5255 Stevens Creek Blvd ,Suite 374,Santa Clara,

      CA 95051.

      • #3 by Joshua on April 30, 2010 - 10:37 AM

        Gotcha. Thought Creek is based in India. They do offshore IT consulting work. That would explain the very thick Indian accent.

  2. #4 by michaeleriksson on April 30, 2010 - 2:56 PM

    Generally, I am of the opinion that many employers put too great weight on finding a perfect match in skill-set (even discounting that they sometimes have an odd opinion of what is a relevant skill).

    In the mid- to long-term, it is almost always better to go with the developer with the better head and the better general understanding of his work, while making some compromises in skills and previous experiences. If a developer spends an average of two hours/week dealing with the database, does it matter that he is experienced only in Oracle and that the formal requirement is Sybase? Does it matter that he is used to another IDE? Has not yet worked at all with one of the ten technologies listed in the ad?

    Unless a really critical skill is missing, or if the accumulation of missing skills is large, the answer should be “No. This is something we can live with.”—unfortunately, far too many reserve that answer for the question “Does it matter than the applicant is not the sharpest tool in the shed?”.

Leave a Reply

