Tea Towel Swap

Hey, remember when I was all like, “I’m sorry I’ve been gone, it’ll get better and I’ll post more about books and look at what I made”? Well, I’m sorry I’ve been gone, I’ve been busy, I haven’t read a thing, and I finished that swap back in November.

You want to see some pictures? (After the fold)The way this swap worked was, I was put in a group with other people. We then sent our towels around in a big circle. Each time we got a new towel we did some work on it and sent it along until we got our own towel back. The pictures I’ll be showing you will be all of my work. Each picture comes from a different towel with a different theme.

In case you forgot, my theme was birds, and here’s the work I put on to it.

This pattern came from a website that I have now forgotten. Forgive me for my imperfect knowledge.

I actually made this pattern myself. It was the first time I had ever tried doing something like this, and I think it worked. I’m a big fan of the flowers and the curls in her hair. This towel had no theme.

If you don’t know what this is, then you really need to expand your horizons. Above, we have the lyrics to a song called “Night Man”. You may be thinking, those are just pictures and squiggles, and you would be right. Google Night Man, I dare you. The theme for this was words.

This might be my favorite piece that I did for this swap. I really loved how the satin stitching came out on the thorns. This also taught me that seed stitch is not only a valid fill choice, it’s an awesome one. This towel was aiming to be Mexican Kitsch.

I lied, this one was my favorite. The colors were perfect together, and the door was beautiful. I loved this so much I didn’t want to get rid of it. It took me forever to come up with this Halloween themed idea.  I was really bummed when I couldn’t get a good picture of it. This is the best I can do, sorry for the blur.

The theme for this towel was John Hughes. It was like having to answer sports questions during try-outs for Jeopardy. I went all glassy eyed and had nothing. I pulled this like from a list of quotes from Pretty in Pink. I saw the movie once, on cable.

Here’s my finished towel. As you can see, it is covered in birds. This is the best swap I’ve ever been a part of and it turns out Craftster agrees with me. The swap won a year end award for being one of the best swaps of the year. If you would like to see the other towels and how they came out, please check out the gallery. There’s some truly amazing work.

,

  1. #1 by Joshua on April 21, 2010 - 3:17 PM

    lol awesome!

  2. #2 by Joshua on April 21, 2010 - 4:27 PM

    Christa, Josh was nice enough to show me your towel(s). You have a wonderful talent. That finished piece is beautiful. You should be very proud of yourself. Way to go. Josh’s mom

Leave a Reply

