The Grand Plan

Problem:  I have a very nice server that my awesome friends got me for Christmas and it’s sitting in the closet for want of reliable power and a place to put it where the noise won’t bother me.

My Idea:

Get about 100′ of perforated steel strips like this:

Perforated Steel Strips

Perforated Steel Strips

Attach them to the ceiling beams in the basement and a steel pan on the bottom so that they form a crude four-post 16u rack.  Mount the E420R, the homebuilt 4U rackmount server, and the Optiplex GX1 Router down there along with a UPS, the DMZ switch, and the modem.

For power, I was thinking of making a new 20A circuit in the load box and running a dedicated outlet to that rack.

I’m not sure how much all this is going to cost or even if four steel strips will hold ~165lbs. of equipment.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on April 16, 2010 - 2:22 PM

    Hrmm…100′? I don’t actually know what the requirements would be, but that seems like more than it should require.

    Sounds like an awesome plan, though.

    • #2 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 4:39 PM

      Well, I figured that 1U = 1.75in. I know I need to store 16U. This will be a four-post rack, so that makes Count the 19 inches across the bottom of the pan (x2 – one in front and one in back). That’s 150″ so, even here, we’re 50″ over what I specified.

    • #3 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 4:40 PM

      Lol okay yeah – I did say 100 FEET. That’s totally not what I meant. I had meant 100 INCHES but that would be too short – I’ll need at least 150 inches.

      • #4 by Chadwick on April 16, 2010 - 5:54 PM

        Isn’t it nice that everything’s standardized like that?

        • #5 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 6:18 PM

          In theory. At Hunter we had a keyboard tray that used a proprietary 1.92 inch unit of height. Nothing fit around it and we had to use homemade brackets just to get it to mount in the cabinet. I hope Dave (my former boss) never has to remove it – I don’t think it will come out without tearing to shreds.

          It happens to have been made by a phone switch maker for phone switch racks. It was left over from the old phone system whose racks used that same 1.92 inch unit-base.

          • #6 by Chadwick on April 16, 2010 - 10:15 PM

            I hate proprietary crap. I swear its only purpose is to make everyone’s life more difficult.

  2. #7 by Joshua on April 17, 2010 - 8:59 AM

    That phone system was installed years before I did the rack mount thing. But I do agree with you. Proprietary crap is just that-crap.

    • #8 by Chadwick on April 19, 2010 - 7:32 PM

      Joshy no picture?

      • #9 by Joshua on April 19, 2010 - 8:52 PM

        Huh. Suddenly, my gravatar seems to be not working. I’ll have to find out why.

        • #10 by Chadwick on April 19, 2010 - 9:11 PM

          I think it’s done it to me before, then corrected itself. So it may be nothing.

          • #11 by Joshua on April 20, 2010 - 7:39 AM

            I’m getting very pissed. I even uploaded a new gravatar pic! My WordPress profile shows the picture just fine but the blog shows the stupid IP-address-icon.

          • #12 by Chadwick on April 20, 2010 - 4:25 PM

            Okay, yeah. It’s done that to me before. It cleared itself up after a couple days.

    • #13 by Chadwick on April 20, 2010 - 5:51 AM

      Also, completely random thought, based on our convo yesterday about how you’ll be an old man in about 10 years: Hey, at least with all the Boomers becoming senior citizens at the same time, they’re making much nicer drugs for your various upcoming ailments.

  3. #14 by Joshua on April 21, 2010 - 11:13 AM

    Hooray!! My Gravatar is back! And that Lindemann’s Kriek Lambic is pretty good. Very juicy cherry flavor with just the right amount of malt.

Leave a Reply

