A generally not awesome day

1.  No Penguins Today

Nickelodeon moved The Penguins of Madagascar to MWF so there was no Penguins today.

2.  It was hot and humid.

Hot and humid sucks.  I’m fat so I sweat a ton and I get all itchy and uncomfortable.

3.  I had a headache.

My neck and head were being evil because I jerked funny yesterday golfing.  And I got rear-ended at a stop light on the way to golf.  I’d be willing to bet that the driver digging 3 inches into the dirt when my hand slipped had more to do with my headache than the fender-bender, tho.

4.  Slackware Linux is good but is missing some key components.

Kernel source?  KDE source?  GTK+ source?  Any kind of -devel packages?  Nope.  PPDs (Linux printer driver specs.)?  Nope.  Cups was installed but not configured.  And it was missing a USB port option.  And no USB scanner support – SCSI, serial, and parallel only.

5.  Oracle made Solaris 10 free for 90 trial only.

I didn’t know it was legal to retroactively make people pay for shit they’ve been using free and clear for years, but apparently Oracle is trying.  Anyone using Solaris 10 for more than 90 days without a support contract is violating license terms.  So fuck you, Oracle.  Novell pwns UNIX and they’re still giving it away.

6.  I had a senseless panic attack while making supper.

I have no clue why.  I just went off the deep end with rapid heart rate, butterflies in the stomach, sweating, panicky-feeling, etc.  It’s happened before but I haven’t had one in almost a year.

7.  The wind blew the pilot lights out in the stove.

We had to relight them.  Not a big issue but annoying nonetheless.

8.  The Firefox included in OpenSuse 11.2 forces public key checks for addons.

Which is great for security – Adobe, Mozilla, etc. all pass.  StumbleUpon doesn’t, however.  So I can’t install Stumble in the bundled Firefox – I’d have to compile my own.

9.  My pastor called me during dinner to explain to him in detail how the website works.

I don’t mind at all helping him out.  But not when a dinner I spent hours preparing is getting cold.

10.  The Wine Fiasco

A.  Chad awesomely got me two bottles of wine.

B.  I put one in the cellar and one in the ‘fridge according to instructions.

C.  I made Jägerschnitzel for supper and I was going to have that German wine.

D.  I got the plastic off of the top and realized that the bottle was sealed with a natural cork.

E.  I realized that, of all the massive piles of every sort of electronic gadgetry around my house, I did not have a single corkscrew.

F.  I used a ceiling hook instead.

G.  After 20 minutes of pulling, I had moved the cork about one sixteenth of an inch.  I ate my now cold supper with milk instead.

H.  After supper, I got a vice grip and a cement bolt to help me pull.  After about 20 more minutes, I managed to bend the quarter-inch steel ceiling hook but not budge the cork.  I instead jammed the bolt into the cork, attached the vice grip, and heaved as hard as I could – I no longer cared about resealing the bottle.  After ripping the top half of the cork to shreds, I finally got the bottom half out in one piece.

I.  As I poured the wine, I was exceedingly glad I decided to have milk with supper as this was not the clear white wine I had expected, but an odd purple instead.

J.  Chad, please don’t be offended as I do truly appreciate the thought, but the wine is terrible.  It tastes a bit like a pencil eraser soaked in kerosene.  Though my taster may just be off.

So yeah.  That was my day.  How’s Phil’s family doing?  Are they coping okay?

  1. #1 by Joshua on April 15, 2010 - 7:13 PM

    Lol – I read “I jerked funny yesterday golfing” as “I jerked off funny yesterday golfing.” That certainly wouldn’t have set well with the Milwaukee County Parks people…

  2. #2 by Joshua on April 15, 2010 - 7:30 PM

    I did manage to jam the undamaged lower-half of the cork back into the bottle to create a decent enough seal to where I could tip the bottle almost all the way without spilling. I put it back in the ‘fridge.

  3. #3 by Chadwick on April 15, 2010 - 8:34 PM

    It tastes a bit like a pencil eraser soaked in kerosene.

    Hrmm…that doesn’t sound right at all. Wonder if you’re broken, or if it wound up being a bad bottle.

    Either way, re: Solaris, what about OpenSolaris?

    • #4 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 7:04 AM

      I dunno if it’s a bad bottle – I tried another small glass later after it was in the ‘fridge a while and it was slightly fruitier but overall had a very oily flavor. The aroma was excellent, though.

      OpenSolaris is still free and open source because it wasn’t owned by Sun. Sun contributed greatly to its development but had no ownership stake in it. Kinda like Suse Enterprise Linux vs. OpenSuse and Red Hat Enterprise Linux vs. Fedora.

      • #5 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 7:06 AM

        I may have fux0red it when I used a possibly greasy ceiling bolt to open it.

    • #6 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 7:07 AM

      So it turns out that the Laughing Cat German stuff is in the basement and I did indeed open the wrong bottle last night. 😦

  4. #7 by Phillip on April 15, 2010 - 11:35 PM

    I’ll betcha that the wine wasn’t supposed to be purple either.

    Weather, actually, it was lovely here all day. We got low 80s and very dry.

    But, yeah, we’re doing ok. The reality is sinking in for everyone. The hospital decided to keep gramma for another day or so. So, maybe tomorrow she’ll be in a nursing home. Yesterday she pulled a funny.

    “I’m gonna die! I’m gonna die!!”
    “Not yet, not yet.”
    “I’m gonna die! I’m really gonna die!!”
    “No, no, not yet. We’ll see you tomorrow!”
    “I’m gonna die! I’m gonna go bye-bye!”
    *she pulls the blanket over her head, calms down for a minute*
    “Are you still here?”

    • #8 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 7:20 AM

      lol – that is kinda funny

  5. #9 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 7:18 AM

    Okay: The bottle is the Tierra Alta Carmeniere. It’s purpley-looking. Doesn’t smell as fruity as port but I can totally tell that it’s wine. The first sip is sour and acidic with a heavy cider or vinegar-like quality. The mid-taste is fruity and very bitter. The rear taste is very grape-like and quite astringent. The aftertaste is freaking awesome – like a perfect winey taste.

    Yeah, I know I’m weird – havin’ wine at 7:17 AM but it was like a quarter ounce in my shot glass just to see if maybe my taste was off yesterday. I’ve never heard of Carmeniere before. I do know that I like Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Port. For future reference, I learned that I don’t like Chardonnay and I guess I don’t like Carmeniere, either.

    • #10 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 7:23 AM

      I looked it up on Wikipedia and it describes the wine as deep red with fruity, spicy, earthy tones and gentle, soft tannins. That’s totally not what I got out of it so it may be a bad bottle – especially given the vinegar-like flavors it has. Perhaps I stored it wrong by keeping it in the ‘fridge.

      • #11 by Chadwick on April 16, 2010 - 9:57 AM

        Last time we had it, it very much had the “cherry-like, fruity flavor with smoky, spicy and earthy notes and a deep crimson color” also noted there.

    • #12 by Chadwick on April 16, 2010 - 9:56 AM

      Frankly, I’m not sure how people drink Merlot. It’s just so flat. Straight grape juice usually has a more interesting taste.

      • #13 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 11:15 AM

        Lol – maybe I’m just not that sophisticated when it comes to wine.

  6. #14 by Joshua on April 16, 2010 - 11:39 AM

    I got Stumble working in OpenSuse 11.2. Yayyy!! I just had to edit the about:config settings to not force PGP verification for plug-ins.

Leave a Reply

