My Goings On (Updated)

As I mentioned, I was going to try to get a post up with some things. So, here goes.

On Wednesday, my grandma had a fall down the stairs and landed on a screwdriver, which of course warranted a visit to the ER. At 7 AM. I stopped by my grandparents house, saw the huge ass gash (literally, it was about 2.5″ long, 1″ high, .75″ deep) on her eyebrow, saw the pools of blood, and ended up having to help her get to the ER. I figured that she’d be stitched up and sent home, but no, a couple hours later I got a call from my mom’s number on my uncles phone about how they were calling family in because she broke C1 on the fall down.

She was at St. Luke’s, and honestly, that was the fastest I’ve ever seen them move someone from the ER to a room. But, she was admitted to the neurological ICU. Later on, she had a neuro surgeon visit and tell us that it was an old fracture. Fast forward to today and we find out that, no, it’s a new one, probably from the fall. So, they have to do therapy with her (I’m personally doubtful about the positive effect it’ll have, after all, she does have AD) and she’ll either have to stay at the hospital or a nursing home. And, tomorrow, we’ll find out what they intend to do about the broken neck thing. They’ve also been giving her morphine to calm her down/kill her pain/put her to sleep and it’s not been working. So, we’ll see what’s going to happen.

I swear, Slusars are zombies. It’s the 2nd time in half a year that the doctors thought she was going to leave. The first time she had incredibly low blood pressure. This time, she broke her neck and was up and walking 2 minutes later.

Update: My gramps was more or less forced to put her into a nursing home. I’ve been saying for some time that she should be in one, she’s a bit too much for him to take care of. Anyways, yesterday, just hours before they were getting ready to get rid of her (I swear, no one at the hospital likes her..that could be because she slaps, kicks, and bites the nurses), someone wasn’t watching her and she fell out of bed. I fully expect her to be deceased by the end of November. Using what I know about brain anatomy, what controls what, and how she is, it’s greatly taken a toll on her brain. I came to the November period because it’s affecting her brain stem. More specifically, it’s already affected her pons, and it’s starting to affect her medulla oblongata. Her sinus rhythm was all over the place; a normal one has 6 distinct phases, her was repeating the same one over and over for a matter of a couple seconds every so often. Her Sp02 was all over the place.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on April 10, 2010 - 7:08 AM

    That all sounds very…problematic. Also, marginally par for the course with your relatives.

    Best of luck to your zombie grandmother. And you; watch out for your brains.

    • #2 by Phillip on April 10, 2010 - 8:22 AM

      I’m not as worried about my brains as you might think. They have her strapped down to the bed. If she manages to undo those, I figure I have at least half a minute to run to someplace safe.

  2. #3 by Joshua on April 10, 2010 - 8:45 AM

    Dude – Slusars sound like a Star Wars species. No offense intended – I totally wish I had an awesome name like that.

    • #4 by Joshua on April 10, 2010 - 8:55 AM

      And I hoping you grandmother is gets better soon.

      • #5 by Phillip on April 10, 2010 - 9:29 AM

        No offense taken. And I’m sure she will. But they did say that she’s either going to stay in the hospital or go to a nursing home; they’re not releasing her back home after all is said and done. Which, I think given everything, is the best thing.

  3. #6 by Chadwick on April 14, 2010 - 11:53 AM

    You know, while it’s never pleasant to lose a family member (well, maybe that’s not true for some people, but not the point), there are times when it seems like perhaps it’s for the best, because they’re not really who they were anymore, and they’re trapped in a place full of pain and fear.

  4. #7 by Christa on April 14, 2010 - 11:58 AM

    I hope you’re doing okay. This kind of thing is never easy. You know we’re all here for you if you need us.
    Best wishes to you and yours.

  5. #8 by Joshua on April 14, 2010 - 12:24 PM

    Da. I hope the Phil family is all dealing with the situation okay.

  6. #9 by Matt on April 14, 2010 - 5:41 PM

Leave a Reply

