The Beers

Josh and I have engaged in an alcohol exchange (as detailed here and here), and while I forgot to bring him his, Josh was kind enough to bring in the beers he promised.  For the record, from largest bottle to smallest (for lack of a better method), the beers consist of Samuel Smith’s Organic Cherry Ale, New Glarus Unplugged Cherry Stout, and Cherish (a kriek lambic, similar in principle—obviously— to the kriek lambic that I wrote about a ways back).

Tonight, I thought I’d crack open the Cherish.  It seemed unpretentious enough to follow a ham & scalloped potato meal.  I believe Josh said that it was rated about a 74, and I don’t think I’d necessarily disagree with that.  I opted to have it after the meal, as I didn’t want to actively pair it with the food (I didn’t think either would be well-served by it, and I stand by that decision afterward), and chose to chill it for 20 minutes in the freezer, which gave it a nice crisp coolness that was fairly refreshing.

It’s not an outstanding drink, but it’s far from terrible…and I’m not sure it performs particularly well as a beer.  I mean, it’s got light carbonation, and there’s a certain bitter hoppiness in the finish, but overall, it seems as if someone has added a dash of alcohol to my light and refreshing cherry juice.  As a bit of compare/contrast with the previous kriek lambic; there’s zero maltiness that I can detect, but as I said, a bit of hops in the finish; it’s got a heavier/thicker mouthfeel, but not incredibly so, and it may be related to the fact that it has significantly less carbonation; it’s a touch sweeter, a bit less acidic, and has the sourness that generally goes with a lambic (or so I’m told).

So, overall, as a beer, I’m not sure if it necessarily succeeds.  But as a lightly alcoholic malt beverage that you don’t think of as a beer, I’d give it about a B/B-.

I’ll be updating this as I try out the rest.  Thanks Joshy!

  1. #1 by Joshua on April 12, 2010 - 6:53 PM

    Cool. I’m glad you liked it. It was under $1 at Discount Liquor. And ham and scalloped potatoes sounds awesome!

    • #2 by Chadwick on April 12, 2010 - 7:00 PM

      Quite. Updated the post slightly to give a comparison to the previous lambic that I tried (and you now have). Oh, and for under $1, I’d say that this is worth it—assuming you’re looking for fermented cherries for your drink.

      • #3 by Joshua on April 13, 2010 - 6:53 AM

        Actually, I haven’t tried it yet. I’m reserving it for an evening when I’m not doing anything.

        • #4 by Chadwick on April 13, 2010 - 7:35 AM

          I see that I phrased that poorly. The “have” that you have is meant for straight possession, rather than “having” consumed it.

          But hopefully this info will give you an idea how the Cherish is relative to it.

          • #5 by Joshua on April 13, 2010 - 12:13 PM

            Ah. Understood. 🙂

Leave a Reply

