Job SItuation

Yes, I’m still unemployed.  This morning, I found a very good job posting:  UNIX admin – Solaris 9/10 and Red Hat Linux.  Excellent Pay, Full Benefits.  Chicago, IL (I can take the train).  I had all the experience and skills they were looking for.  Except one:  10 years experience as a UNIX administrator in a high-end brokerage firm.  WTF?  Somehow my 6+ years of UNIX admin experience in military, government, banking, consulting, accounting, and nonprofits means nothing because it wasn’t in a “high-end brokerage firm?”  How is administering UNIX in a brokerage firm different from any other business?  The general idea and overall business requirements for any open system are generally the same:  maximum uptime for critical systems, as secure as is practical, in line with standards and specs.  Not a difficult concept!  But apparently, I am incapable of administering a UNIX system at a brokerage firm simply because I’ve never done it before.  That’s circular logic in my book.

  1. #1 by Joshua on April 9, 2010 - 10:48 AM

    Lol – I just got one for Seattle, WA where they want someone with experience deploying Microsoft SQL Server 2005 on AIX. I’d really like to meet the person who pulled that one off. (I know, VMWare and all that. :P)

    • #2 by Phillip on April 9, 2010 - 11:42 AM

      I fail to see the point of running server software on emulated hardware. Wouldn’t it just make more sense to get the hardware for the job?

  2. #4 by Phillip on April 9, 2010 - 11:43 AM

    You’d be surprised at all the jobs like that though. I look at it this way though, if they hire only people with experience in that exact situation, eventually, there’d be no one left with experience in that exact situation so they will sometimes have to hire people not meeting those exact specs.

  3. #5 by Andrew D. on April 9, 2010 - 1:04 PM

    If you’re interested in the position, apply for it, and ignore the fact that you don’t meet their exact specifications. My current position is living proof that job opportunities requiring X+ years of experience are bullcrap so long as you actually know what you’re doing. (I was hired for a 3+ Years Experience & Bachelor’s Degree position when I had 1 year of experience and had completed freshman year of college… no complaints yet!)

    • #6 by Joshua on April 9, 2010 - 1:12 PM

      I did apply for it but given the situation, they’re likely to actually find someone who matches those exact qualifications.

Leave a Reply

