Beer for all

I just got back from Discount Liquor. Here’s my haul.

  • New Glarus Unplugged Cherry Stout (for Chad)
  • Lindemans Kriek Lambic (for me)
  • Southern Tier Imperial Choklat Stout (for Erin)
  • Hacker-Pschorr Weisse (for Erin)
  • Samuel Smith’s Organic Cherry Ale (for Chad)
  • Cherish (for Chad)
  • Rodenbach Grand Cru (for me)

The New Glarus Unplugged Cherry Stout satisfies my obligation to Chad in exchange for a bottle of wine that he thinks I will enjoy. The Lindeman’s Kriek Lambic sounded good from Chad’s recommendation, so I bought a bottle. Erin expressed interest in perhaps trying a few different types of beer and mentioned that she had had a chocolate stout previously. The picture she showed matches perfectly the “Les Trois Mousquetaires” but that brewery never made a chocolate stout (though for a French Canadian brewery, they sure make a lot of hard-core German, Czech, and Austrian beers). The Southern Tier Imperial Choklat Stout was one of the cheaper Chocolate Stouts that Discount had but it had the best overall rating. I think the distinction is that this is “cheater’s chocolate stout” – it contains actual cocoa. The more expensive chocolate stouts are actually Export Stouts or Imperial Stouts with very dark, roasted malt profiles to very closely mimic the cocoa flavor.

For non-beer people (or people who’ve only ever had American lagers), I like to start them off with a nice Hefe-weiss. It’s sweet, not heavy on the hops, and not terribly malty, either. Very cereal-like. So I bought a bottle of one of my favorite Weitzenbiere (Hacker-Pschorr) for Erin. It’s very good and pretty cheap. Since I’ve liked every Samuel Smith’s beer I’ve had, I decided to throw in a Samuel Smith’s Cherry Ale for Chad to see how he likes it. And the Cherish is a very tiny bottle that was under $1. It purports to taste like cherries but had a pretty low rating. It’s probably crap but for $0.79, it’s worth a try to see if Chad can make anything of it. And a while back, Chad saw a review of Rodenbach Grand Cru and thought I should try it. The problem was that at the time, there was no U.S. Importer for it. It seems that they finally got that sorted out because now Discount Liquor has it on the shelf.

All of the beers are going in the cellar until Monday when I’ll bring Chad and Erin theirs. Mine will stay in the cellar.

While I was shopping, I saw Rogue Extra Pale Ale on the shelf with a 112 IBU bitterness rating. I considered getting it for Erin just to see the squinty faces she would make when she drank it but the price tag made me think better of it. Pale Ales are more for food-pairing than straight drinking (though many Pale Ales are VERY drinkable!)

  1. #1 by Joshua on April 6, 2010 - 9:54 AM

    Though I have to say that I find the New Glarus Cherry Stout to be more of a Cherry Porter, really. It lacks the dark, roasty taste of a stout. Cf. Sprecher Generation Porter.

    • #2 by Chadwick on April 10, 2010 - 2:49 PM

      Did you see the Related Post?

      • #3 by Joshua on April 10, 2010 - 3:53 PM

        I just saw it. His review is right on. It’s not thick, rich, creamy, and toasty like a Stout. It’s definitely a dark cherry beer, though.

  2. #4 by Chadwick on April 10, 2010 - 1:36 PM

    Well since you were so kind as to offer three containers (even if one is cheap), I’ve opted to come at you with two bottles of my own.

    The first is the Tierra Alta Carmenere that we discussed, which I still suggest pairing with some nice steak & potatoes sort of thing (though I imagine it would stand up well enough against a lamb or veal as well).

    The second is a Laughing Cat Gewurztraminer, in the German style. Was specifically recommended by the wine guy for matching up with some good German food, such as sauerkraut and/or various pork dishes, etc. I’ve not had this one, but I did have the Laughing Cat Sweet Gewurztraminer, which was totally awesome, so I’m sure this will be just as good, as well as made to match with some of your favorite foods.

    • #5 by Joshua on April 10, 2010 - 2:47 PM

      Sounds just perfect for me. Thanks, man!

    • #6 by Joshua on May 28, 2011 - 12:40 PM

      Update: Laughing Cat Gewürztraminer is now my favorite wine of all time. Thanks!

  1. The Beers « Around Teh Table

Leave a Reply

