Stuff I think is awesome, part 1: Exhaust Flappers

Exhaust Flapper

Exhaust Flapper

I have no idea why I think they’re awesome.  I think they’re most awesome on an idling diesel:  They bob up and down and make a tiny “clink!” sound when they hit the pipe.  One thing I never figured out is why they have that big, rounded back.  My guess is to counterbalance the weight of the flap.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on April 5, 2010 - 5:03 AM

    Re: counterweight: That’s always been my assumption.

    • #2 by Phillip on April 9, 2010 - 11:36 AM

      That’s what I always chalked it up to.

Leave a Reply

