Palm Sunday

At the request of our pastor, a member of our congregation took pictures of our Palm Sunday service.

Cross of Palms

Cross of Palms

The congregation gathers

The congregation gathers

Mostly Empty Pews

Mostly Empty Pews

Our Ushers

Our Ushers

The men are supposed to be wearing pocket panels that match the color of the day, in this case, red.  But that’s rarely done for some reason – they just aren’t big on pocket panels I guess.

The kids get ready to process

The kids get ready to process

The pastor decided that because of the significant percentage of elderly congregants, we would have the Sunday School kids process in with the palms instead of the entire congregation.

Hosanna In the Highest

Hosanna In the Highest

I consider the finer aspects of the palm frond while the kids begin the procession.

The Pastor and I process in

The Pastor and I process in

Palm Sunday

Palm Sunday

The Kids doing their song

The Kids doing their song

The sparse congregation

The sparse congregation

Long View of the Sanctuary

Long View of the Sanctuary

The Pastor encourages a kid and me with my nose in a book

The Pastor encourages a kid and me with my nose in a book

The Junior Ushers collected the offering

The Junior Ushers collected the offering

On our return to the altar from bringing Communion to pew-bound congregants

On our return to the altar from bringing Communion to pew-bound congregants

The Sending Song

The Sending Song

Our Recession

Our Recession

The last look at the Cross of Palms

The last look at the Cross of Palms

  1. #1 by Chadwick on March 29, 2010 - 4:22 AM

    Hey, lookin’ good in your church-gear.

    My church always just had the Sunday School kids do it too.

    It’s nice that your church has ninjas (visible—out of respect, I imagine—above the pastor during the Hosanna and process in).

    And having just awoken recently, I can’t fathom how to possibly string those three points into a single response.

    • #2 by Joshua on March 29, 2010 - 3:09 PM

      Lol – I’m totally gonna have to start calling it a ninja now. It’s supposed to be this painting done in bronze relief. Only it’s really ugly. Or at least I think so. The pastor (and our last two pastors) just loves it. BTW, God (or a surly Jew stereotype as I see it) is on the other side of the aisle from the ninja.

    • #3 by Joshua on March 29, 2010 - 3:19 PM

      And thanks for the compliment. The robes (called Albs) are really heavy (they’re wool) and I always get really sweaty wearing them. All the robes are white except mine, it’s kind of eggshell with streaks of almond. It was our last pastor’s robe and was in terrible shape when he retired. They got it repaired and now I wear it ’cause it fits. Saves the church a lot of money since they didn’t have to custom-order one for me.

      And the ladies that prepare the Acolytes love to give my cincture away to the girls. I don’t know why – John and I have the extra long cinctures ’cause we’re fat. The girls are skinny and our long cinctures get wrapped around them 8 times or more. And then we have to wear short cinctures tied together, which sucks. So I’ve taken to hiding my cincture elsewhere in the office so the ladies don’t give it away before I get there. 😛

      • #4 by Joshua on March 29, 2010 - 3:23 PM

        John’s the archdeacon of the church (that makes him my direct boss) and a Brother Mason. He’s visible in these pictures hanging out in the choir loft bothering the organist. He’s silhouetted against the Luther cross in this picture. He’s a very nice guy and I’m proud to call him a Brother. I always think of him as “jolly.” That word totally fits him.

        • #5 by Joshua on March 29, 2010 - 3:24 PM

          here‘s a better look at Brother John up in the choir loft, standing behind the organ console.

Leave a Reply

