Uh, comics.

This is a post that I’ve been meaning to write/trying to write for a bit now.  Honestly, it’s been hard to get an actual post out lately.  I’ll have an idea, and I might even open the New Post function, but never get around to actually doing it.  But I’m just making myself at this point.

So, Comics.  Specifically, comics on the web.  But not webcomics, per se.  Recently, I decided to follow an advertisement through just because I liked the art on display in it, and it promised a NSFW comic.  Alright, I thought.  I’ll bite. The comic in question (which on a regular basis is NSFW as promised) was Curvy, by Sylvan Migdal.  Curvy describes itself as “a sexy sci-fi adventure comic for adults,” which is fairly apt, I suppose.  It’s definitely for adults, with the levels of nudity involved, and the frequency of sex—but that’s not all it is.  It’s an oddball, often goofy, multiverse-spanning adventure, fleeing from the Crown Prince of Stupid World and a US Federal Agent across Candy World and Beach World, among others (for reference, we’re from Boring World).

It’s ongoing, and when I reached the most recent page, I decided to check out the rest of the comics from Migdal.  And all of them were worth my time.  Except maybe Spork:

Honestly, it made me think of Josh for some reason.

It’s not even that Spork was bad; it was actually fairly amusing at times, but it was the disconnected, weekly one-liners that I’ve already seen too much of, and couldn’t muster much interest for.  His other work, though, was outstanding.  In particular, Mnemesis and Ascent.

In case it wasn’t obvious from my comment re: Spork, part of what makes these comics so interesting is that they have a story to tell, with a real story arc to them, and a start and finish.  They’re a story in graphic form, that happens to be on the web, rather than webcomics.  Of the two I mentioned, I have a hard time picking which I liked more.  Ascent was a more fun read, and the characters were easier to differentiate, but Mnemesis dealt with some deeper issues, and had some deeper impact.

Ascent deals with a bizarre world full of wizards and two city-states at war, but where magical pollution seems to be quickly destroying things faster than the magical artillery.  The focus is on a young wizard and an ethically-challenged girl he meets at a bar, and the problems that occur when she convinces him to help with her group trying to stop the wizards from destroying all life, directly or indirectly.

Ascent

Mnemesis, meanwhile, is about the afterlife, and specifically waking up there, still in your body, in a world that’s a near-copy of our own, unable to remember who you are, or what your life was like.  And the Christian fundamentalists that exist there.

Mnemesis

The one other comic I’d like to mention, as long as I’ve got this window open is Brightest.  It’s still pretty new, but I’m liking the art style, and the writing so far has amused me greatly.

  1. #1 by Joshua on March 27, 2010 - 5:14 PM

    I can tiyallyt see how Sprok makes you think of me. I’m not druink, BTW, I’m tying bling because the screen scolors are all screwed up on GNOMER on my Sun machine cause I was playing with CDE and trying to gidure out where GTK uses X11 colorrs and where it uses its won colors.

    • #2 by Joshua on March 27, 2010 - 5:14 PM

      Lol – tyying Bling! I love it. GNOMER = GNOME, BYW.

  2. #3 by Chadwick on March 28, 2010 - 9:52 PM

    Now with more samples!

Leave a Reply

