Not that anyone cares, but…

As you may know, I’ve been working as an Admin over at Ben’s (tall, thin Israeli guy) Star Wars RP Forum (Darkness & Light, come check it out).  With the game set during the New Sith Wars, there’s been relatively little to suggest what the place is like (though more is being released all the time), so much of it has been left to me to make the decisions on.  Part of that involves deciding what planets are aligned with which galactic power.

As such, I made a map.  This was back in September/October last year, I seem to recall, and while the map gave a nice idea of the rough edges of Sith Space, and Hutt Space and etc., it was small, and the resolution was crap; add to that the fact that I had accidentally saved the original in a compressed format, and it was only marginally useful.  Oops, I guess.

Anyway, I just spent the last week and a half (maybe two, I kind of lost track) putting together a new map, and one which does everything right.  I wanted it big, to show all the listed stars across teh whole galaxy in a clear fashion.  The New Essential Atlas was released relatively recently, and it includes maps large enough to pull this off; in fact, Wookieepedia even has scans of the pages at massive resolutions, which was incredibly helpful.  And so, using those scans as references, I set out to make my own new map of the Star Wars Galaxy, with all the trade routes, all the planets I could squeeze in, all the boundaries for the various factions vying for control of the Galaxy.

It was a lot of work, particularly since I came to the conclusion I’d need to completely make my own.  After a search, I came up with Spiral Galaxy M101, courtesy of the Hubble, and used that for the background.  I inserted a reference grid, index numbers and letters, hyperlanes, different regions (Core, Colonies, Outer Rim, etc.), and the faction boundaries.  I think, in the end, it turned out pretty well.  [6 MB PNG Image below the fold]

, ,

  1. #1 by Joshua on March 19, 2010 - 3:19 PM

    DUDE! That’s massively awesome! You have mad cartography skills!

Leave a Reply

