The Dumb Things I Do

I like to periodically scan my server’s open ports from another box on my network.  Just to make sure that nothing’s listening that I don’t intend to listen.  So I fired up nmap on my mom’s windoze box and did a TCP scan of ports under 1024.  After the first 15 ports, the server stopped responding.  I couldn’t ssh into it, telnet into it, or talk to the SMTP or IMAP servers on it.  I panicked, thinking that a port scan killed the server.  Then I realized what happened:  Portsentry tripped when it detected the port scan.  I totally forgot that I run tools to deter port scans.  All I had to do was pop onto the console and delete the IP address from Portsentry’s blocklist.

Sometimes I really am stupid.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

