Overload Video

Hey everyone.  I just finished this video for one of my classes and I’m interested in hearing your honest opinion about it.  It is a video project in which I’m trying to depict how computers can affect users.  How does it make you feel or not feel?  What could make it better?  What did you like/dislike?

Mind Plex from sean bodley on Vimeo.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Joshua on March 18, 2010 - 5:24 PM

    Well, to be honest, I felt pretty much how you felt in the video. This tend to paint a very slanted picture of how people interact with computers. While your “boredom” viewpoint might represent a significant portion of users, lots of people, especially business type people, do a ton of work on their machines and can’t stem the flow incoming demands on their time.

  2. #2 by VisualHierarchy on March 18, 2010 - 5:58 PM

    Thank you for your thoughts Josh. In the video I’m not trying to depict boredom, but a super overload of information. I did the video because I use my computer for work and play and end up spending way too much time on here. Sometimes after too long on the computer it can hurt my eyes, fry my brain, and disorient me, but I never get bored.

    • #3 by Joshua on March 20, 2010 - 9:43 AM

      Ah. Okay. I kinda got the “information overload” vibe but I interpreted it as boredom.

  3. #4 by Chadwick on March 18, 2010 - 6:37 PM

    I really had to meditate on this for a while. Perhaps meditate isn’t quite the right word, but that’s beside the point.

    It was…interesting. In a lot of ways, it really did feel like using the computer, especially since it’s rare to find me doing only one thing at a time. I’ve always got a dozen tabs, and the chat program, and a game, and…yeah.

    I half wondered through much of it whether it was play-acting on your part, or whether you simply recorded yourself playing Total War. Either seemed completely plausible; one would be more awesome.

    In all, I felt somewhat lost in it — trying to take it all in, but failing, which I assume was something of the intent. Also, wondering who the guy on the wikipedia page was, but not quite motivated enough to look him up.

    I liked having the Total War bit largely playing in the background throughout. I disliked some things that I can’t really put a finger on; I’m just sure it could be better. I’m also just not sure how.

    I’m marginally helpful at times.

  4. #5 by VisualHierarchy on March 19, 2010 - 9:59 AM

    Thanks for the feedback chad. I’m glad some of my intentions came across, the feeling of being on the computer. There was no acting in front of the cam as I just turned it on, went about my online business and forgot it was there. I like this piece, but I would agree it could be improved, I’m just not sure how as of yet

  5. #6 by Phillip on March 21, 2010 - 12:45 AM

    I didn’t mind it overall, but there were a couple things that didn’t sit well with me. Changing text size or zooming in, to me, doesn’t really convey an overload.

    I did like it that you had a few other things out in there so it wasn’t just one particular thing.

    I think too that most of us, when we use our PCs, have sound. A lot of information is conveyed by sound, so maybe some sound bites would help?

Leave a Reply

