Coffee Recommendation: George’s Burly Blend

George's Burly Blend

George's Burly Blend

Not to be confused with Burley tobacco – that’s for pipes or roll-your-own cigarettes, neither of which I encourage.  Though I do have a healthy respect for pipes.

I discovered that I had run out of Stone Creek’s Dark Guatemala yesterday and decided to go to Alterra instead.  As I stood in line, I started reading the coffee guide they had hanging there.  I decided I wanted a blend this time.  And I decided that I wanted something with almost no acid.  That got me Alterra’s Favorite, Black & Tan, Blue Heeler, Café Voltaire, George’s Burly Blend, or Punch in the Face.  It was a hard decision as those are my favorite coffees.  It finally came down to Alterra’s Favorite, George’s Burly Blend, or Punch in the Face.  I looked at the bag pictures and picked the one that I liked best:  George’s Burly Blend.

It pours dark as midnight from the pot with a very nice medium-dark roast coffee aroma with maybe hints of old leather.  The first sip is of light to medium roast coffee with a hint of bittersweet raspberry and a medium-heavy body.  The mid-taste continues the coffee flavors but stars to lose the fruit notes.  The rear taste strengthens the coffee flavor and returns a hint of the old leather flavor.  The aftertaste is of fine English tobacco and butter cookies.

This coffee is quite burly in flavor.  If you’re looking for a good all-day cup, this is it.  Its pleasant aroma, robust flavor, and moderate body will keep you going without knocking you over.  I highly recommend this coffee for anyone looking for something less pedestrian than Dunkin Donuts but not ready for something so ruthlessly ballsy as Punch in the Face.

  1. #1 by Christa on March 16, 2010 - 2:52 PM

    Good to know. We were looking at picking this up the other day. We went with Traditional Mocha Java.

    • #2 by Chadwick on March 16, 2010 - 6:25 PM

      Which is quite good. Actually kind of thick and creamy. Very smooth.

      • #3 by Joshua on March 17, 2010 - 6:14 AM

        Hmm. That might be my next purchase.

Leave a Reply

