UglyDuckling gets a new CD-ROM

The not-so-ugly duckling

The not-so-ugly duckling

The old CD-ROM drive had terminal issues.  Terminal as in “incurable.”  Not terminal as in “text-mode serial IO device.”  Anyway, I replaced that drive with a new one of the same make and model but with the proper beige bezel.  This one can at least read discs (it just won’t read CD-RWs, a problem I noted in the last machine it was in.)

A VERY Ugly Duckling

A VERY Ugly Duckling

Since I had to take the faceplate off to access the removable drive cage, I decided to take that opportunity to remove the years of dust and crap that had accumulated all over the vents.

Years of crap jammed into tiny holes

Years of crap jammed into tiny holes

New drive installed

New drive installed

And all the dust gone!

Hooray!!

Hooray!!

The system found the drive!

And the drive's internal diagnostics pass.

And the drive's internal diagnostics pass.

UglyDuckling back under the desk

UglyDuckling back under the desk

The Dell OptiPlex GX1 is my router (for now).  It will be repurposed when I get around to turning the GX1 that Matt donated into my new router.  The blue Linksys box is a 5-port gigabit switch.  The dark green box is the cable modem that I lease from Time Warner.  The duck is what they give you when you buy a refurbished but other-than-perfect machine from AnySystem.com.  In this case, the imperfections include the patch of sticky label adhesive on the face plates next to the floppy slots and a missing plastic fiber optic panel that normally carries the power-on LED’s green light from deep within the case to the small pinhole right above the power button.  I don’t really miss the power-on indicator as I can easily tell when the machine’s running – it roars like a dust buster on steroids. 😛

  1. #1 by Joshua on March 13, 2010 - 5:02 PM

    ALSO: WANTED SCSI CD-ROM DRIVES!!

    I now have three broken SCSI CD-ROM drives. If anyone has a spare working SCSI CD-ROM drive that they want to get rid of, let me know. Can be any make or model and any SCSI interface – I have enough adaptors to make anything work.

Leave a Reply

