Syre Goes off the Map

Soloing elites isn't worth the effort

Soloing elites isn't worth the effort

I had to kill him for a quest and I didn’t feel like trying to get a group together.

Achievement Complete:  Explore Hellfire Peninsula

Achievement Complete: Explore Hellfire Peninsula

The Wrong Side of the Dark Portal

The Wrong Side of the Dark Portal

Incidentally, it’s solid from behind – the portal only works from the front side.

My Favorite Hat

My Favorite Hat

When you use it, it gives you one of three drinks.

Dubious Achievement:  Lunch Lady

Dubious Achievement: Lunch Lady

Cooking is one of the skills I’ve been neglecting for a long time.  I finally got around to catching up.

I wouldn't exactly call fishing an Art...

I wouldn't exactly call fishing an Art...

A sport, maybe.  But not an art.

Soloed WC for fun

Soloed WC for fun

Since I started this toon long before the achievement system was built, I lack all the dungeon achievements under Gnomeregan.  I already did VC (soloed it to farm linen cloth).  Now I did WC.

The Wrong Side of a World Tree Portal

The Wrong Side of a Great Tree Portal

Until they get the Emerald Dream fully implemented, the great tree portals only let the dragons out, not curious adventurers in.  This is what you see when you walk through one.

Interesting trees they have here

Interesting trees they have here

I noticed the very interesting pattern on the bark of this tree.

Enlarged

Enlarged

Do I Look like an old Gnome?

Do I Look like an old Gnome?

Beggar's Haunt

Beggar's Haunt

I find it interesting that the designers put so much attention into an area that’s well off the beaten path and has no quests attached to it.

The single unmarked grave

The single unmarked grave

Watched over by the same two dudes that stand next to the Dark Portal on the Azeroth side.

The sharp, flat nothingness

The sharp, flat nothingness

For fun, I decided to swim / hike up the east cost of the Eastern Kingdoms from the Swamp of Sorrows to Thandol Span.  I found out that the area that lies directly east of the Burning Steppes is entirely flat and isn’t even well-blended into the landscape – the high coastal mountain range just abruptly ends with a sheer drop onto a flat, featureless plain.  It’s quite evident that this zone is unfinished and not intended to be visited by players.

Where am I?

Where am I?

According to the minimap, I’m in the wetlands.  But on the continent map, I’m where I expected to be:  East of the Burning Steppes.  Apparently, any closed zone on the eastern half of southern Eastern Kingdoms shows up as Wetlands on the minimap.

The Backside of the Stonewrought Dam

The Backside of the Stonewrought Dam

This isn’t a closed area (there are fish and mining nodes here) but it isn’t very well-traveled.  Aside from a low-level Dark Iron cave with no boss and no loot to speak of, there’s nothing in this valley in far southern Wetlands, near the closed fortress of Grim Batol.  But you do get a lovely view of the back end of the Stonewrought Dam, where Loch Modan feeds the river that makes the wetlands wet.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

