A Shot in the Dark

I was at Stone Creek yesterday and I was very drowsy.  So I decided to order something I rarely order:  A cup of black coffee with two shots of espresso floated on top.

The nice pregnant barista lady told me that it was called a “double overdrive.”  Cute.  I got to thinking of all the names that different coffee shops give to the drink made by floating a single shot of espresso atop a mug of black coffee:

  • Alterra calls it a Red Eye
    • Two shots is called a Black Eye
  • Stone Creek calls it an Overdrive
  • Bigbucks calls it a Shot in the Dark
  • Sonic calls it a Sonic Boom (also cute)
  • McDonalds will make one if asked but it isn’t on the menu
    • Don’t ask, though.  McDonalds espresso could be easily mistaken for what’s left on the bottom of a pot that’s been accidentally boiled dry.
  • Dunkin’ Donuts calls it a Turbo

Am I missing any?  Next time you go to a coffee shop, look or ask what they call a shot of espresso atop a cup of coffee and let me know.

  1. #1 by Matt on March 12, 2010 - 10:05 AM

    Sounds like overkill… too much caffeine and my heart starts to race. Just the right amount throughout the day, and I’m good all day.

    • #2 by Joshua on March 12, 2010 - 10:08 AM

      Yayyy!!! I thought I was the only one who gave a crap about this blog anymore.

      • #3 by Matt on March 12, 2010 - 6:24 PM

        Apparently not 😛

        I check here every now and again, and comment.

Leave a Reply

