Heh. Big Dog (Updated)

UPDATE: Confirmed – my dog expert uncle says that the animal in question is a purebred Giant Alaskan Malamute. He says that it’s a very friendly and personable dog. I wouldn’t know – I’m not a dog person.

Small Alaskan Malamute

Small Alaskan Malamute

The two-doors-down neighbors have an Alaskan Malamute (mix, possibly). Only it’s not a small one like the one in the picture.

Theirs is freaking HUGE! I swear this dog stands at least four feet from paw to foreshoulder. With all four paws on the ground, the dog can lick my chin without straining. I normally don’t like dogs much but this one doesn’t seem to bother me. It’s quite well behaved and almost never barks. When it does, it does for good reason. And when it does, the entire city hears it. When one of my stupid upstairs neighbors’ dogs got loose and came into the big malamute’s yard, it began to rumble (like a low growl but deeper) and then worked up to a gigantic “WOOF!” Just one. And the little weiner dog (owner calls it a “turd with legs”) went scurrying home. It was funny as all hell. As long as the dog stays where it belongs and doesn’t bother me, I’m okay with it.

UPDATE 2/24: Since this is in the top 10 today for some reason, I figured I’d post pics of the actual dog in question:

Sitting next to a grill, looking toward the front of the house

Sitting next to a grill, looking toward the front of the house

Looking at me, wondering why I'm taking pictures

Looking at me, wondering why I'm taking pictures

Getting Up

Getting Up

Even though it looks like it’s preparing to take a dump, it was just getting up from its seated position.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

