Surprisingly Good

For the fun of it, I ran dstat on my RHEL 5 server to check how even the disk usage was on the software RAID 5.  I found it to be surprisingly even and efficient:

running a dstat -d -D hda,hdc,sda,sdb on dustpuppy from UglyDuckling

running a dstat -d -D hda,hdc,sda,sdb on dustpuppy from UglyDuckling

The server is primarily a webserver but also does e-mail routing, spamfiltering, storage, etc.  Here’s the mdstat content:

green [imbrius@dustpuppy ~]$ cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
md0 : active raid5 sdb2[3] sda2[2] hdc2[1] hda3[0]
      466503168 blocks level 5, 256k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

unused devices: <none>


I was very surprised at how even the disk usage was across the four members of the RAID-5 array.  It seems that Linux’s mdraid software has really come a long way since I last saw it.  Incidentally, I see better read performance out of this RAID-5 array than I did with my previous LVM-striping over two software RAID-1 arrays on the same hardware.  A little slower write performance, though.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

