Joshua vs. The Shovel

Plastic Deep Pocket Shovel

Plastic Deep Pocket Shovel

My morning was going quite well:  Donuts for breakfast, good coffee in a French press, etc.  Until The Incident.

I was minding my own business, shoveling the remaining snow off the edges of the driveway when all of a sudden, out of nowhere, my shovel turned on me.  It beat me viciously with its handle until my face was left a twisted mess.

Well, not exactly.  I was trying to chip chunks of ice loose from the concrete and I got the shovel blade wedged in a crack.  I leaned on the handle, trying to use leverage to further crack the ice but my hand slipped and the bent plastic shovel handle acted just like a catapult and sprung back to whack me right in the cheekbone, just under the eye.  And my face isn’t exactly a “twisted mess.”  The only injury I can see is a slight puffiness under the eye and a rather nasty headache.

Or maybe I was subconsciously attempting suicide by bludgeoning myself to death with a snow removal implement.  If so, my inner emo kid was very unsuccessful.  And stupid.

  1. #1 by Phillip on February 11, 2010 - 2:24 PM

    Those are always the best, when the tool strikes back. I’ve had it happen a number of times already, so now I plan for it to hit me.

Leave a Reply

