Tuesdays

When I was working, most of the desktop PCs (and several of the servers) under my care were windoze boxen.  So Tuesdays were usually Patch Day.  This went double when Sun (excuse me, Oracle) adopted Tuesdays for patch releases also.  Now that I’m unemployed, I manage only Red Hat Servers (sorry, HomelyGosling, I can’t plug you in yet) so Patch Day is Saturday.  Tuesdays are now “WoW Realm Maintenance Day.”  Which is good because I get a chance to do all the basic maintenance tasks that get pushed aside for instance runs most days.  It’s bad because I keep remembering basic maintenance tasks I want to do to my WoW characters too.

So for this Realm Maintenance Tuesday, I’m running the snowblower in an uphill battle against quite a big storm, phase-shifting my grandmother’s old collection of audiocasettes into MP3, reconfiguring my Saitek game controller (always a new spell / command I want to put somewhere), and tensioning/tuning my 12-string guitar which I restrung last night.

The realms will be back up at 1PM CST and my Penguins come on at 2:30PM CST so that gives me at most 1.5 hours to play WoW today.

  1. #1 by Joshua on February 9, 2010 - 10:40 AM

    New Source of Awesomeness: Shortbread Brownie Cookies! They’re awesome and even better dipped in coffee.

    • #2 by Chadwick on February 9, 2010 - 1:30 PM

      Those do sound really good.

  2. #3 by Chadwick on February 9, 2010 - 1:32 PM

    It’s been funny playing Star Trek Online, ’cause today marks the end of the first week. So every morning, the servers were down for like three hours for patching and maintenance. Plus all the random downtime, ’cause the servers were overloaded, or someone tried to respec their characters or something. I’m just glad the servers have been running smoothly for like two and a half days now.

  3. #4 by Joshua on February 9, 2010 - 3:48 PM

    Today’s realm maintenance is ongoing. Thankfully my realm is up now. Even so, it’s laggy as hell and there are still bugs. Like my mailbox having 30 blank messages from the Auction House, the vendors selling blank, nameless items for varying prices, and everyone’s companion pets suddenly becoming level 1 Pandaren monks.

    I’ve crossed Dire Maul: North off my list for good. I think Blizzard just wants people to fail there. Like the key that’s required to finish the dungeon that only drops 40% of the time.

    • #5 by Chadwick on February 9, 2010 - 4:25 PM

      LOL @ the mail.

      FAIL @ the DM:N. Only 40%? How does that even work? I mean, if it was 40% off several mobs, I could see it. But that just seems dumb.

      • #6 by Joshua on February 9, 2010 - 4:28 PM

        It’s true.

        • #7 by Chadwick on February 9, 2010 - 9:50 PM

          “As of 1.11, the key disappears if you zone out of Dire Maul, so if you want to have a complete tribute run you now need a rogue with 300 lockpicking, an engineer with a [Large Seaforium Charge], or a blacksmith with a [Truesilver Skeleton Key].”

          WTF?

          • #8 by Joshua on February 10, 2010 - 7:22 AM

            Yup. I think Blizzard doesn’t want people to do DM: North. The loot isn’t even that good to make it worth the major pain in the ass.

Leave a Reply

