The USS Uriel

The Uriel (NX-93711) is my new Cruiser in Star Trek Online.  It’s a good ship, made of parts from all three classes of Cruiser, though primarily a combination of Vesper and Excalibur, with just a dash of Constitution.  She’s armed with a fairly stock set of weapons right now, though a significantly upgraded set of shields, which makes extended combat a good deal more comfortable.

I bring this up because I know a fair number of us have at least tried Star Trek Online (henceforth known as STO), and I, for one, am enjoying it a great deal.  I haven’t enjoyed a game quite this much since I started on World of Warcraft back in the day.  Possibly one reason for that is that they’re both games with deep backstories.  With World of Warcraft, I had spent much of my adolescence playing the Warcraft series of RTS games, and was so excited to have the opportunity to explore the world from a personal perspective, and meet the people, rather than simply watching it go by as I waged war across its landscape.

While I was never as deep into Star Trek as I was with Star Wars, or Warcraft, it is something that I’ve enjoyed over the years (particularly anything that’s not Next Gen—not that I disliked Next Gen, it was just my  least favorite).  And so now, presented again with that opportunity to personally roam the starlanes of the Alpha Quadrant (and beyond, later), I’m incredibly excited.  I’ve got my own ship, I’ve built my own crew, and I’m tooling around Federation space, defending miners from Nausicaan pirates, helping solve business disputes, and examining odd sacks of life that are scaring local colonists.  Admittedly the missions, when observed in a purely logistical sense, are repetitive—blow up five squadrons, talk to these people, run over and scan these half-dozen things—but the text that goes with these missions, combined with the different races for the enemies and the variety of scenery (not to mention the mix of space and ground missions—and I’d like to see more of the latter) makes for a real sense of variety in the missions that I don’t usually feel in MMOs.  In short, I’m loving every minute of it.

I’ve got a limit of five characters.  Three are my Federation officers, one for each branch (Tactical, Engineering, and Science).  Engineering is my lead, Tactical and Science are effectively unused thus far, though I plan to take them up a bit later.  I’ve also got a single Klingon I’ve created (Tactical or Engineering, I forget.  But what would Klingons want with Science?); he’s actually an Original Series Klingon, ’cause that’s how I roll.  The final slot goes to my human Engineer, the first character I made.  She’s actually a recreation of the Engineer I played through Beta as.  I should probably delete her, but I can’t bring myself to do it—we have history, and I’m a sentimental bastard.

As the only character that I’ve run much past the Tutorial phase of the game (which I’d also like to compliment STO for; easily one of the best Tutorials I’ve run through lately), I thought I’d lay out my main:  Lt. Commander Kah’lynn.

That’s her in the center; the Klingon.  Oddly, half of my crew is Andorian.  There’s Lt. Tala, whom I think of as my First Officer.  Then there’s Lt. Jhryr, Chief Engineer, and his assistants, Ensigns Gojhir and Langdon (Langdon being a recreation of my Human Engineer again, so that when I finally manage to work up the nerve to delete her, she can live on with my crew).  Ensign Lamat’iklan is a Jem’hadar, as far as I’m concerned, and then there’s Ensign Kreg, my Ferengi Science Officer.  I’d have him no other way.  They’re a great crew, really.  I’m quite happy with their skill spreads, and I’m going to be taking more tactical support on ground missions now that I’ve added Ensign Lamat’iklan to my crew.

In all, I can’t think of much that I’d ask of this game, aside from more ground missions (though it seems like a lot of people want less, so maybe I should just hope the proportions stay the same).  My opinions may change as it goes, and maybe I’ll grow bored.  But as of now, I don’t see it happening.  I’m just enjoying it too damn much.

To wrap, look at my pretty new ship:

, ,

  1. #1 by Phillip on February 9, 2010 - 11:15 PM

    I’m almost to a point where I’m almost give this a shot.

    • #2 by Chadwick on February 10, 2010 - 5:12 AM

      Because you’re on the verge of a breakdown anyway, or because of my fantastic writing?

      • #3 by Joshua on February 10, 2010 - 7:21 AM

        If I knew a bleeding thing about Star Trek, I would give this a shot just because of your fantastic write-up.

        • #4 by Chadwick on February 10, 2010 - 7:53 AM

          Bah, you need not knowledge of the Trek. It simply must be made.

      • #5 by Phillip on February 10, 2010 - 10:06 AM

        Oh, both.

        And as much as I hate to say it, I kind of like Star Trek. No one could ever have guessed that.

Leave a Reply

