Frustrating Dream

I was in Prof. Albert Milani’s Calculus class.  He was telling us to calculate Riemann sums by hand.  I was getting angry with him because there are much easier ways to find the area under a curve.  So I decided to not bother calculating the Riemann sums by hand but simply use my nice shiny TI-89’s definite integral feature instead.  Until I took the exam and was asked to show the difference in the limits arrived at by calculating the left, right, and center Riemann sums for an interval.  I had, at that point, become so reliant on a solid-state computer that I had forgotten how to calculate Riemann sums.  And I was very angry and yelled at the professor.

I have no idea why I forgot how to calculate a Riemann sum.  If you can calculate the area of a rectangle, then you can calculate a Riemann sum.  It’s even easier to find a left, right, or center Riemann sum since those have a constant period.  But I guess the moral of the story is not to rely on solid-state equipment to solve your problems – you may need to get by without it someday.

  1. #1 by Joshua on February 9, 2010 - 8:34 AM

    I notice that nobody ever comments on anything I write anymore. Is everyone pissed at me or something?

    • #2 by Chadwick on February 9, 2010 - 1:27 PM

      No, I’ve just been less active the last week or so than normal. *shrug* I have cycles.

      • #3 by Joshua on February 9, 2010 - 1:34 PM

        No problem – I wasn’t getting down on you or anything. I was just making sure that I didn’t say/do something stupid again.

    • #4 by Chadwick on February 9, 2010 - 1:29 PM

      For what it’s worth, I seem to be coming back out of it. The Star Wars forum I RP on, I didn’t post for like a week and a half…but then I did a slew of posts over the last couple days. So hopefully I’ll be back to functionality soon

Leave a Reply

