Caffeine Conundrum (Updated)

Caffeine

Caffeine (1,3,7-trimethylxanthine)



Everyone’s favorite adenosine antagonist is the source of my troubles.  See – if I drink coffee in the mornings, I don’t get to sleep until about 3 AM the next day, despite my best efforts.  If I don’t drink coffee in the mornings, I’m mentally drained by 2:30 PM and falling asleep in the chair at 8 PM.  I think the solution is to consume less caffeine – say one 16oz mug instead of my usual 2.  At any rate, does anyone else have any advice in moderating my agonist affinity?

EDIT:
funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 28, 2010 - 7:56 AM

    BTW, it works because the purine structure (the inner pentagon-hexagon configuration) that looks a LOT like adenine that fools the receptor, which is looking for adenosine, which is adenine glued to a ribose sugar.

    It doesn’t activate the receptor but merely blocks it up so the real McCoy can’t get to it. It doesn’t activate because caffeine has those three methyl groups (and a dione structure – that’s right, I’m looking at YOU, double-bonded Oxygen) and is missing an amine group.

  2. #2 by Chadwick on January 28, 2010 - 10:36 AM

    You could try making smaller cups, so you could drink a couple of those instead.

  3. #3 by London on January 28, 2010 - 11:08 AM

    I have been told to stop drinking soda but stopping outright is doomed to fail. So I’m restricting how often. I went from 4~6 cans a day to 1~2 a day to 1 every other day and now I’m at 1 every 4 days.

    Interestingly, I don’t drink it for the caffeine. It’s more for the carbonic acid. mmm mmm acid.

  4. #4 by Walter Adena on January 29, 2010 - 1:06 AM

    Find a smaller mug. At least you have satisfied your craving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

