Installation Pics

The Officers of George Washington 1776 Lodge #337

The Officers of George Washington 1776 Lodge #337

I was installed as the Junior Deacon of George Washington 1776 Lodge #337 of Whitefish Bay, WI this morning.

Presentation of the Flag of the United States

Presentation of the Flag of the United States

The color guard consisted of Brother Joseph Fahrenkopf (Spc., U.S. Army) as Flag Bearer, Past Master Frank Nuernberger as Senior Steward, and Brother Terry Johannes as Junior Steward.

The Officers taking the Oath of Office

The Officers taking the Oath of Office

From Left to Right (far to near):  Brother Walt Smith, Worshipful Master; Past Master Otto Tesch, Senior Warden; Brother Chuck Carroll, Junior Warden; (gap for the Secretary and Treasurer, who were absent); Brother Horace Palmer, Chaplain; Brother Will Cekosh, Senior Deacon; Me (Joshua Armstrong), Junior Deacon; Brother Keith Sargent, Senior Steward; Brother Tyler Kristopeit, Junior Steward; Past Master Jim Roberts, Tiler.

The Deacons, Invested for Office

The Deacons, Invested for Office

Left to Right:  Brother Will Cekosh, Senior Deacon; Me (Joshua Armstrong), Junior Deacon.  This was after we had received the jewels and implements of our offices.  We were being charged with the duties thereof.  And I had the rod canted about 10 degrees forward, which is wrong.  I have to work on getting that dead vertical.

Brother Will giving the camera the evil eye

Brother Will giving the camera the evil eye

The angle of the rod is even more evident here.  It should be perfectly vertical in both axes.  I need to work on that at practice.

Me giving the camera the evil eye

Me giving the camera the evil eye

This is after I’ve been seated at my place.  Tiler Jim Roberts waits to be installed.

Brother Will is trying to tell me something and I'm ignoring him

Brother Will is trying to tell me something and I'm ignoring him

This was before the installation started.

  1. #1 by VisualHierarchy on January 16, 2010 - 6:03 PM

    congrats josh!

  2. #3 by Phillip on January 16, 2010 - 11:29 PM

    Congrats! So, I’m guessing you can’t tell us what this means, can you?

    • #4 by Joshua on January 17, 2010 - 7:49 AM

      No. I can tell you anything about this – it’s a public ceremony. You could’ve come if you had wanted to.

      The general idea is that a Lodge, like any other organization, has officers that are responsible for the management of the order. This is the (public) ceremony to formally install those officers. You can even read the cleartext ceremony (Public Opening) (Public Installation).

      • #5 by Joshua on January 17, 2010 - 7:50 AM

        Err – that first “No.” should be a “Yes.”

  3. #6 by Chadwick on January 17, 2010 - 1:01 PM

    Last time I saw anything like that was Gus’ dad’s funeral, with all the Masons lined up in their aprons.

    Well, congratulations on the installation. I hope they affixed your mounting brackets correctly so you don’t wobble. I had thought about showing up, but instead decided to have a rather nasty (but fairly short-lived) illness that necessitated rather frequent visits to certain facilities.

    • #7 by Joshua on January 17, 2010 - 1:17 PM

      Lol. Was that illness precipitated by overconsumption of intoxicants?

      • #8 by Chadwick on January 17, 2010 - 2:03 PM

        No, more like something (I’ll say bacterial) that was given an opening by my working too hard moving furniture and other such things. I thought it was exhaustion at first. Turned out to be a bit messier.

    • #9 by Joshua on January 17, 2010 - 1:18 PM

      And they obviously got the mounting brackets wrong as evidenced by my lack of vertical hold on the rod. 🙂

  4. #10 by Joshua on January 17, 2010 - 5:36 PM

    OH and The Chad: The wine yesterday was NASTY. It was pink in color. The box said Franzia White Zinfandel. I dunno crap about wine but I know that it was damn nasty. 😛

    • #11 by Chadwick on January 17, 2010 - 6:16 PM

      Yeah…Franzia says it’s the most popular wine in the world, and that’s quite possibly even true. But popular and good are often two different things. Also, while box wines are starting to improve in quality (and some good wines are starting to be put in boxes), they’re still not very good on the average. Actually, as the wikipedia article on Franzia notes, “Franzia wines are quite inexpensive, and thus Franzia wine is popular among university students in the United States.” Which should tell you everything you need to know.

      While I can’t disagree particularly with the choice of a White Zinfandel for a gathering of people who may or may not generally like wine, seeing as how you’re somewhat more refined as a consumer of alcoholic beverages, I suspect you’d find even a good White Zinfandel to be a bit on the boring side.

  5. #12 by Matt on January 18, 2010 - 12:43 AM

    When I have wines, I tend to like White better than Red.

    And that doesn’t mean I’m any less of a Party member, Comrads 😛

    • #13 by Chadwick on January 18, 2010 - 9:22 AM

      I’m not surprised. Whites tend to be popular with people who don’t normally drink wines (or beers, or whatever; I don’t normally see you rambling about teh finer points of taste and etc.). On the average, they’re simpler, sweeter, etc. I’ve recently started to drink whites, and found that they can be good. Reds are normally my thing.

Leave a Reply

