Data on the rocks

My mom’s hard drive died on Sunday.  I dropped in a spare and got Windows XP installed but all her games and junk are still missing.  All the important data (financials, taxes, resumes, e-mail, etc.) is stored on the server (SATA RAID-5) and backed up nightly but her games were all local to her box.  So I let the drive sit since removing it Sunday and now I put it in the freezer.  I’ll see if I can get it to at least copy the Program Files directory over to the server so she doesn’t lose her savegames and high scores.

  1. #1 by Chadwick on January 12, 2010 - 8:47 AM

    Yay freezer drives!

    • #2 by Joshua on January 12, 2010 - 10:08 AM

      I’ll let you know if it works.

    • #3 by Joshua on January 12, 2010 - 12:59 PM

      It worked perfectly. I was able to restore everything without a problem.

Leave a Reply

