Grrr…stupid computer!

I was sitting around, playing Empire:Total War when all of a sudden my PC bluescreened. No biggie but it’s not done this in this install until today. BSODs are kind of helpful, they tell you what went wrong and how. So, I’m noticing that it’s a ctoss2k.dll problem (yes..yes..Creative..) and figure that I’ll just update the drivers. But there was a slight problem. I reinstalled the driver, it rebooted, froze, rebooted, then bluescreened again. Now what? I get a whatever the hell they’re called but they’re the whole xxx_xxxx_xxxxx thing and it leads me to believe it’s possibly my video card (the error referred the my HDMI port). So, I get around to updating those drivers and it blue screened again. So, finally, it reboots and the DVD light keeps flashing on and off…for minutes…alright, let’s hit the power switch to stop it. I then turned it back on, went into BIOS and found that one of my 5V rails was running at ~4.25V. Well, it worked fine yesterday…they don’t normally just die without some theatrics…so I flipped the switch on it..waited..switched it back, powered on, went into BIOS again and it’s putting out ~4.95V. Much better. Since then it’s been fine *knock on wood*.

  1. #1 by Joshua on January 10, 2010 - 9:34 AM

    Huh. Maybe PSU is dying?

    • #2 by Phillip on January 10, 2010 - 11:24 AM

      It’s possible. Luckily, it has either a 3 year or lifetime warranty (I think 3 year though). I just checked all the voltages and they were within spec again.

  2. #3 by London on January 11, 2010 - 2:22 PM

    Sounds a bit like what mine was doing. Then again, I don’t have enough tech knowledge to know if that’s what you were saying or not. Please disregard irrelevant comments.

    • #4 by Phillip on January 11, 2010 - 3:33 PM

      I’ve dealt with failing PSUs a couple times. But it’s kind of weird for something to not work then just click and work. How’d yours end up?

Leave a Reply

